World Languages & Literatures

Faculty Directory

Department Chair

Gina L. Greco, Ph.D. - Professor of French

Office Staff

Faculty by Language

Emeriti Faculty

American Sign Language

Sherry Andrus

Sherry Andrus, B.S.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of American Sign Language
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: 503) 725-5226  
Email: sherrya@pdx.edu

Justin Coleman

Justin Coleman, M.A.
Senior Instructor II of American Sign Language
Office: FMH M317
Email: jcoleman@pdx.edu

Jonah Eleweke

C. Jonah Eleweke, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of American Sign Language
Office: FMH M319  
Phone: (503) 444-8138  
Email: jeleweke@pdx.edu

Marie Fernstrom

Marie Fernstrom, B.S.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of American Sign Language  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: marif@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Morris Ellayna, M.A. & M.B.A. 
Adjunct Instructor of American Sign Language  
Office: FMH 316
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: elmorris@pdx.edu

Sara Weiner-Collier

Sara Weiner-Collier,MSW  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of American Sign Language  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: sbw5@pdx.edu


Arabic

Afaf Azar

Afaf Azar, B.A.
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic
Office: FMH 316
Phone: (503) 725-5226
Email: afaf2@pdx.edu

Clifford Breedlove

Clifford Breedlove, M.A. & M.A.T.  
Senior Instructor II of Arabic  
Office: FMH M424  
Phone: (503) 725-3506  
Email: cliffb@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Abdulrahman Eissa, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic
Office: FMH 316
Phone: (503) 725-5226
Email: abeissa@pdx.edu

Yasmeen Hanoosh

Yasmeen Hanoosh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Arabic
Office: FMH M320
Phone: (503) 725-5217
Email: yhanoosh@pdx.edu

 


Chinese

World Languages Logo

Jonathan O. Pease, Ph.D.  
Professor of Chinese  
Office: FMH 430J  
Phone: (503) 725-5292  
Email: peasej@pdx.edu

Stephen Wadley

Stephen Wadley, Ph.D.
Professor of Chinese
Office: FMH M433
Phone: (503) 725-5293
Email: wadleys@pdx.edu

 


French

  Annabelle Dolidon

Annabelle Dolidon, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of French  
Office: FMH M322  
Email: dolidon@pdx.edu

Lisa Friedli

Lisa Friedli, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of French  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: lfriedli@pdx.edu

Gina L. Greco

Gina L. Greco, Ph.D  
Department Chair and Professor of French  
Office: FMH 430H  
Phone: (503) 725-5287  
Email: grecog@pdx.edu

Chrystele Luneau

Chrystele Luneau, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of French  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: cluneau@pdx.edu​

Brian Mather

Brian Mather, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of French    
Office: FMH 316    
Phone: (503) 725-5226    
Email: bsm@pdx.edu

Julie Nelson

Julie Nelson, M.A.    
Adjunct Senior Instructor of French  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: julie6@pdx.edu

Ida Nyberg

Ida Nyberg, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of French  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: ida2@pdx.edu

Jennifer Perlmutter

Jennifer Perlmutter, Ph.D.  
Professor of French  
Office: FMH M326  
Phone: (503) 725-8783  
Email: jrp@pdx.edu

Stephanie Roulon

Stephanie Roulon, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of French  
Office: FMH M429  
Phone: (503) 725-9589  
Email: stephanie.roulon@pdx.edu

Stephen Walton

Stephen Walton, Ph.D.  
Assistant Professor of French  
Office: FMH 430F  
Phone: (503) 725-5278  
Email: swalton@pdx.edu

 


German

Dana Capage

Dana Capage  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of German  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: dcapage@pdx.edu

Carrie Collenberg-Gonzalez

Carrie Collenberg-Gonzalez, Ph.D.  
Director of Deutsche Sommerschule am Pazifik and Assistant Professor of German  
Office: FMH 430B  
Phone: (503) 725-5285  
Email: carrie23@pdx.edu

Steven Fuller

Steven Fuller,  Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of German  
Office: FMH M433  
Phone: (503) 725-9570  
Email: fullers@pdx.edu

Kathleen Godfrey

Kathleen Godfrey, Ed.D.  
Assist. Director of Deutsche Sommerschule am Pazifik and Assist. Professor of German  
Office: FMH 430G  
Phone: (503) 725-5294  
Email: godfreyk@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Verena Hutter, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of German
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: vhutter@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Johanna Morris  
Adjunct Instructor of German  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: wippich@pdx.edu

Sarah Schoettler

Sarah Schoettler, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of German  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: schoettl@pdx.edu

 


Hebrew - Modern

Sharon Erez-Shai

Sharon Erez-Shai, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Modern Hebrew  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: sharon29@pdx.edu

Moshe Rachmuth

Moshe Rachmuth, PhD.  
Assistant Professor of Modern Hebrew  
Office: FMH M427  
Phone: (503) 725-9776  
Email: rachmuth@pdx.edu

 


Italian

Cinzia Di Vasta

Cinzia Di Vasta  
Adjunct Instructor of Italian  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: divasta@pdx.edu

Nobuko Wingard

Nobuko Wingard  
Adjunct Instructor of Italian  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: nwingard@pdx.edu 

Angela Zagarella,

Angela Zagarella, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of Italian  
Office: FMH 430D  
Phone: (503) 725-9576  
Email: zagarea@pdx.edu

 


Japanese

Karen Curtin

Karen Curtin, Ph.D.  
Assistant Professor of Japanese  
Office: FMH M417  
Phone: (503) 725-5288  
Email: ukaren@pdx.edu

Peter Fodor

Peter Fodor    
Adjunct Instructor of Japanese  
Office: FMH 345  
Phone: (503) 725-5297  
Email: fodor@pdx.edu

Saki Hirozane

Saki Hirozane  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Japanese  
Office: FMH 345  
Phone: (503) 725-5297  
Email: hiozane@pdx.edu

Jon Holt

Jon Holt, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Japanese  
Office: FMH M332  
Phone: (503) 725-5936  
Email: joholt@pdx.edu

Elsiemae Ito

Elsiemae Ito  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Japanese
Office: FMH 345
Phone: (503) 725-5297
Email: elsiemae@pdx.edu

Narumi Iwasaki

Narumi Iwasaki, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Japanese  
Office: FMH 345  
Phone: (503) 725-5297  
Email: niwasaki@pdx.edu

Laurence R. Kominz

Laurence R. Kominz, Ph.D.  
Professor of Japanese  
Office: FMH M422  
Phone: (503) 725-5277  
Email: kominzl@pdx.edu

Natsuko Llewellyn

Natsuko Llewellyn  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Japanese  Office: FMH 345  
Phone: (503) 725-5297  
Email: lnatsuko@pdx.edu

Tetsuko Sugawara

Tetsuko Sugawara  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Japanese
Office: FMH 345  
Phone: (503) 725-5297  
Email: tetsuko@pdx.edu

Suwako Watanabe

Suwako Watanabe, Ph.D.  
Associate Chair, Professor of Japanese, and Director of Institute for Asian Studies  
Office: FMH M432  
Phone: (503) 725-5284  
Email: suwako@pdx.edu

 


Korean

Jihye Kim

Jihye Kim, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Korean  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: jihye@pdx.edu

Young-Juo Han

Young-Juo Han, M.A.  
Instructor of Korean  
Office: FMH M321  
Phone: (503) 725-5937  
Email: yhan@pdx.edu

 


Latin

Timothy Nidever

Timothy Nidever, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of Latin  
Office: FMH 430A  
Phone: (503) 725-5212  
Email: tnidever@pdx.edu

 


Norwegian

World Languages Logo

Thomas Birnie, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Scandinavian Studies  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: birnie@pdx.edu

 


Persian

Bahar Jaberi

Bahar Jaberi, M.A.  
Instructor of Persian  
Office: CH 217  
Phone: (503) 725-3956  
Email: bhbj@pdx.edu

Anousha Sedighi

Anousha Sedighi, Ph.D.  
Professor of Persian  
Office: FMH M330  
Phone: (503) 725-8784  
Email: sedighi@pdx.edu

 


Portuguese

World Languages Logo

Cynthia Sloan, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Spanish & Portuguese  
Office: FMH 430E  
Phone: (503) 725-5283  
Email: sloanc@pdx.edu

 


Russian

Daria Aleeva

Daria Aleeva, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of Russian  
Office: FMH M323  
Phone: (503) 725-5229  
Email: daleeva@pdx.edu

Anna Alsufieva

Anna Alsufieva, Ph.D.  
Assistant Professor of Russian  
Office: FMH M324  
Phone: (503) 725-5282  
Email: alsufiev@pdx.edu

William Comer

William Comer, Ph.D.  
Director of Russian Flagship Center and Professor of Russian  
Office: FMH 315G  
Phone: (503) 725-3539  
Email: wcomer@pdx.edu

Cassio de Oliveira

Cassio de Oliveira, Ph.D.  
Assistant Professor of Russian  
Office: FMH 430L  
Phone: (503) 725-8728  
Email: cassio@pdx.edu

Nila Friedberg

Nila Friedberg, Ph.D.  
Interim Director of Russian Flagship Center and Associate Professor of Russian  
Office: FMH M426  
Phone: (503) 725-5290  
Email: nfriedbe@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Daria Smirnova, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Russian
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: smirnova@pdx.edu

 


Spanish

Ona Aliaj

Fationa Aliaj, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: aliaj@pdx.edu

Yadira (Aimee) Carreon-Serna

Yadira (Aimee) Carreon-Serna, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: yadira@pdx.edu

Jenny Ceciliano

Jenny Ceciliano, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of Spanish  
Office: FMH M328  
Phone: (503) 725-5263  
Email: ceciliano@pdx.edu

Yuliana Cerrud-Castillo

Yuliana Cerrud-Castillo
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: yrc2@pdx.edu

Lyndsie Compton

Lyndsie Compton, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: lyndsie@pdx.edu

Enrique E. Cortez

Enrique E. Cortez, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH M419  
Phone: (503) 725-5289  
Email: ecortez@pdx.edu

Roselia Ekhause

Roselia Ekhause, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: roselia@pdx.edu

Craig Epplin

Craig Epplin, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 430C  
Phone: (503) 725-5206  
Email: epplin@pdx.edu

Indira Funk

Indira Funk  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish  
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: indifunk@pdx.edu

Simon Garay

Simon Garay  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish  
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228
Email: sigara2@pdx.edu

Elizabeth Giannone

Elizabeth Giannone, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: eliz4@pdx.edu

Carolina Gomez-Montoya

Carolina Gomez-Montoya, Ph.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: cg25@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Jennifer Hensley, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: jhensley@pdx.edu

Isabel Jaén Portillo

Isabel Jaén Portillo, Ph.D.  
Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH M421  
Phone: (503) 725-3541  
Email: jaen@pdx.edu

Claudia Lainez

Claudia Lainez
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: clainez@pdx.edu

Gabe Lehrburger

Gabriel Lehrburger
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: glehr2@pdx.edu

Antonia Lespin

Antonia Lespin, M.A.   
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: alespin@pdx.edu

Charo Loa

Charo Loa
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: charo@pdx.edu

Arturo Martinez

Arturo Martinez, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: arturo2@pdx.edu

Adrian Miller

Adrian Miller, M.A. Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226
Email: adrian.rose.miller@pdx.edu

Lisa Notman

Lisa Notman, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: lnotman@pdx.edu

Eva Núñez-Méndez

Eva Núñez-Méndez, Ph.D.  
Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH M430  
Phone: (503) 725-8785  
Email: enunez@pdx.edu

DeLys Ostlund

DeLys Ostlund, Ph.D.  
Associate Dean of CLAS and Professor of Spanish  
Office: CH 341  
Phone: (503) 725-9840  
Email: delys@pdx.edu

Melissa Patiño-Vega

Melissa Patiño-Vega, Ph.D.  
Visiting Scholar in Spanish and Chicano/Latino Studies  
Office: FMH M329  
Phone: (503) 725-5273  
Email: mpatino2@pdx.edu

Lindsay Perwak

Lindsay Perwak, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: lperwak@pdx.edu

Alma (Lucy) Philipp

Alma (Lucy) Philipp, Ed.D.  
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: aldiaz@pdx.edu

Melissa Pineda

Melissa Pineda, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: mp8@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Lina Quiroga-Gonzalez, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: lina@pdx.edu

Eli Ronick

Eli Ronick, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: ronick@pdx.edu

Robert Sanders

Robert Sanders, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Spanish  
Office: FMH M418  
Phone: (503) 725-5296
Email: rsanders@pdx.edu

Eli Sears

Eli Sears, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: esears@pdx.edu

Veronica Short

Veronica Short, M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Spanish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: vshort@pdx.edu

Liseth Soracipa Ortiz

Liseth Soracipa Ortiz   
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish  
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: lsorac2@pdx.edu

Jose Valdivia

Jose Valdivia  
Graduate Teaching Assistant of Spanish  
Office: FMH 317  
Phone: (503) 725-5228  
Email: valdivia@pdx.edu

World Languages Logo

Cynthia Sloan, Ph.D.  
Associate Professor of Spanish & Portuguese  
Office: FMH 430E  
Phone: (503) 725-5283  
Email: sloanc@pdx.edu

Shayna Snyder

Shayna Snyder, M.A.  
Capstone Instructor
Office: FMH 365K  
Phone: (503) 725-8780

Ines Warnock

Ines Warnock, M.A.  
Senior Instructor II of Spanish  
Office: FMH M428  
Phone: (503) 725-9846  
Email: iwarnock@pdx.edu

 


Swedish

Christina Kreft-Tengblad

Christina Kreft-Tengblad,  M.A.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Swedish  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: kreftc@pdx.edu

 

 


Swahili

Josphat Waruhiu, MPA & MA
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Swahili  
Email: waruhiuj@pdx.edu 

 


Vietnamese - Heritage

Quy Nguyen

Quy Nguyen, M.Ed.  
Adjunct Senior Instructor of Vietnamese  
Office: FMH 316  
Phone: (503) 725-5226  
Email: quy@pdx.edu

 


Second Language Acquisition

Steven Thorne

Steven Thorne, Ph.D.
Professor of Second Language Acquisition
Office: FMH M423
Phone: (503) 725-5979
Email: steven.thorne@pdx.edu

 


Emeriti Faculty

  • Cabello, George T., Spanish - Emeritus
  • Diman, Roderic., Spanish - Emeritus
  • Fischer, William, German - Emeritus
  • Fisher, Claudine G., French - Emerita
  • Freels, Sandra, Russian - Emerita
  • Hickey, Martha, Russian - Emerita
  • Kogan, Galina, Russian - Emerita
  • Menke, Timm, German - Emeritus
  • Nussbaum, Laureen, German - Emerita
  • Parshall, Linda, German - Emerita
  • Rees, Earl L., Spanish - Emeritus
  • Sbait, Dirgham, Arabic - Emeritus
  • Swenson, Eric, French - Emeritus
  • Vistica, Sister Rita Rose, French - Emerita
  • Wetzel, Patricia J., Japanese - Emerita

Staff

ZoeAnn Dimond

ZoeAnn Dimond
Office Coordinator & World Language Requirements Specialist
Office: FMH 315A
Phone: (503) 725-5291
Email: zd@pdx.edu

Kelli Martin

Kelli Martin
Scheduling Coordinator & Graduate Admissions Specialist
Office: FMH 315D
Phone: (503) 725-3243
Email: kmarti@pdx.edu

Dzuan (John) Nguyen

Dzuan (John) Nguyen
Department Manager
Office: FMH 315E
Phone: (503) 725-5280
Email: dzuann@pdx.edu

Thalia Sophiana - Russian Flagship Center Coordinator
Office: FMH 315H
Phone: (503) 725-5275
Email: tsophiana@pdx.edu

Zahra Abukar - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522

Yessica Castillo - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522

Gabriela Herhandez Garcia - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522

Haden Ngo - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522

Sarah Quay - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522

Sierra Robinson - Student Office Assistant
Office: FMH 315
Phone: (503) 725-3522