Search Google Appliance


Advising and Placement in World Languages

Link to Advising for Language Requirement

WebCAPE placement test for:

 Advising For WLL Majors and Minors

 
The Department of World Languages and Literatures offers undergraduate majors in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish. It also offers undergraduate minors in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Modern Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Persian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Classical Studies, and a Certificate of Advanced Proficiency in Russian and Certificate in Teaching Japanese as a Foreign Language. It also participates in the Secondary Education Program. The Department offers the following graduate degrees: Master of Arts in World Language and Master of Arts in World Languages and Literatures.

For advising in your field, please:

-- fill in and submit this Advising Request Form for Majors and Minors

All WLL Advisers provide advising to students on their major as well as the university’s general education (BA & UNST) requirements.

World Languages Adviser (Undergraduate) Shayna Snyder Neuberger Hall 451H

  • To schedule an advising appointment, please go to shayna-snyder.youcanbook.me,
  • Quick questions can be e-mailed to: shays@pdx.edu
  • Advising appointments are available in the Department of World Languages and Literatures (WLL) for current and prospective undergraduate World Languages and Literatures majors and minors in all languages offered. Shayna is also the Faculty Adviser for Spanish, so all Spanish majors and minors and Heritage Speakers should see her for Spanish major/minor advising.
  • General departmental information such as degree requirements, course descriptions, upcoming events, and faculty profiles can be found at: https://www.pdx.edu/wll/

Faculty Adviser e-mails:

Arabic
Dr. Hanoosh: yhanoosh@pdx.edu
Dr. Sbait: sbaitd@pdx.edu

Chinese
Dr. Pease: peasej@pdx.edu
Dr. Wadley: wadleys@pdx.edu

Classical Studies
Dr. Cosgriff (Ancient Greek): cosgriff@pdx.edu
Prof. Nidever (Latin): tnidever@pdx.edu

French  
Dr. Dolidon: dolidon@pdx.edu
Dr. Greco: grecog@pdx.edu
Dr. Perlmutter: jrp@pdx.edu
Dr. Walton: waltons@pdx.edu

German
Dr. Fuller: fullers@pdx.edu
Dr. Menke: menket@pdx.edu 
Dr. Collenberg-Gonzalez: carriecollenberg@pdx.edu  

Italian
Dr. Boero:  silviab@pdx.edu

Japanese
Dr. Curtin: ukaren@pdx.edu
Dr. Holt: joholt@pdx.edu
Dr. Kominz: kominzl@pdx.edu
Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu

Persian
Dr. Sedighi: sedighi@pdx.edu

Russian
Dr. Comer: wcomer@pdx.edu
Dr. Friedberg: nfriedbe@pdx.edu
Dr. de Oliveira: cassio@pdx.edu

Spanish
Prof. Snyder: shays@pdx.edu

Turkish 
Dr. Basci: bascik@pdx.edu


Certificate in Teaching Japanese as a Foreign Language: 

Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu

Certificate of Advanced Proficiency in Russian:
Dr. Comer: wcomer@pdx.edu

Secondary Education:
For French - Dr. Walton: waltons@pdx.edu,
For Japanese - Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu,
For Russian - Dr. Comer: wcomer@pdx.edu,
For Spanish - Dr. Sanders: rsanders@pdx.edu

All other language programs are advised by the departmental adviser (Department Chair, Associate Chair, Spanish Adviser, World Language Adviser) and faculty overseeing the language section.

For more information on advising, contact the departmental office at (503)725-3522 or write to world@pdx.edu