School of Music & Theater

Faculty & Staff Directory

Director

Bonnie Miksch
School Director, Composition Area Coordinator
Office: LH 231D
bonnie@pdx.edu | 503.725.3063

Staff

Kurt Beardsley
Theater Scene Shop Coordinator
Office: LH 101
kurt4@pdx.edu | 503.725.4658

Alexandra Habecker
Office Coordinator
Office: LH 231
ahabec2@pdx.edu | 503.725.3011

Brenda Honeyman
Scheduling Coordinator
Office: LH 231C
honeyman@pdx.edu | 503.725.3382

Heather Myers
Operations Manager
Office: LH 231E
hmyers@pdx.edu | 503.725.3175

Ian Wallace
Marketing Coordinator
Office: LH 231D
iwallace@pdx.edu | 503.725.9505

Full-Time Faculty

Darrell Grant
Associate Director, Jazz Piano/Improv Professor
Office: LH 243D
grantd@pdx.edu | 503.725.5828

Karin Magaldi
Associate Director of Theater, Playwriting and Dramaturgy Professor
Office: LH 231B
magaldk@pdx.edu | 503.725.4642

Devon Allen
Acting/Directing Professor
Office: LH 325
devona@pdx.edu | 503.725.4701

Sherry Alves
Jazz Vocals Professor
Office: LH 237B
alves4@pdx.edu | 503.725.3180

Dave Bamonte
Brass Area Coordinator, Trumpet Professor
Office: LH 27
bamonted@pdx.edu | 503.725.3124

Harry Baechtel
Classical Voice Professor
Office: LH 345B
baechtel@pdx.edu | 503.725.3153 

Joel Bluestone
Percussion Area Coordinator
Office: LH 31
bluestj@pdx.edu | 503.725.3182

Antares Boyle
Assistant Professor of Music Theory
Office: LH 239C
antares@pdx.edu

Sydney Carlson
Director of Graduate Studies, Woodwind Area Coordinator, Associate Professor of Flute
Office: LH 30
sydneyc@pdx.edu | 503.725.3064

Susan Chan
Piano Area Coordinator
On Sabbatical 2019-20

Hamilton Cheifetz
String Area Coordinator
Office: LH 326G
cheifetzh@pdx.edu | 503.725.3185

George Colligan
Jazz Area Coordinator
Office: LH 32
ghc@pdx.edu | 646-620-8286

Tomas Cotik
Assistant Professor of Violin
Office: LH 245C
tcotik@pdx.edu | 503-725-8215

Chuck Dillard
Collaborative Piano Area Coordinator
Office: LH 227
cad8@pdx.edu

Debbie Glaze
Music Education Area Coordinator
Office: LH 239B
glazed@pdx.edu | 503.725.3155

Brad Hansen
Theory Area Coordinator
On Sabbatical 2019-20

Barbara Heilmair
Associate Professor of Clarinet & Music History
Office: LH 243E
heilmair@pdx.edu | 503.725.3199

Edward Higgins
Associate Professor of Music (Online)
Office: LH 313e
ehiggins@pdx.edu | 503.725.3051

Jesse McCann
Classical Guitar Area Coordinator
Office: LH 227
jmccann@pdx.edu

Christine Meadows
Classical Voice Area Coordinator
Office: LH 345C
meadowsc@pdx.edu | 503.725.5463

Jelena Simonović Schiff
Assistant Professor of Music History & Musicology
Office: LH 237c
jes@pdx.edu | 503.725.3195

Ken Selden
Director of Orchestral Studies
Office: LH 245B
kselden@pdx.edu

Ethan Sperry
Director of Choirs
Office: LH 239A
esperry@pdx.edu | 503.381.7822

Karen Strand
Oboe Professor
Office: LH 200B
strandk@pdx.edu | 503.725.3179

Pat Vandehey
Director of Bands
Office: LH 29
pvan2@pdx.edu | 503.725.3010

Richard Wattenberg
Theater History Professor
On Sabbatical 2019-20

Anwyn Willette
SAMP Area Coordinator
Office: 326B | 503.725.3130
willette@pdx.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Jea Alford
Costume Instructor
alfordje@pdx.edu

Donna Lorrain Bahr
Acting Instructor
bahrl@pdx.edu

Julia Banzi
World Music & Flamenco Guitar Instructor
jbanzi@pdx.edu

Alejandra Blech
Theory Instructor
ana28@pdx.edu

Charles Bolton
Music Education Instructor
boltonc@pdx.edu

Kenji Bunch
Viola/Composition Instructor
kbunch@pdx.edu

JáTtik Clark
Tuba and Euphonium Instructor
clarkjat@pdx.edu

Steve Conrow
Trumpet Instructor
sconrow@pdx.edu

Florian Conzetti
Music Theory Instructor
conzetti@pdx.edu

Colin Corner
Bass Instructor
corner@pdx.edu

Phil Cuomo
Theater / Movement Instructor
philip.cuomo@pdx.edu

Mario Diaz
Classical Guitar Instructor
diazm@pdx.edu

Damian Erskine
Jazz Bass Instructor
derskine@pdx.edu

Renée Favand-See
Composition Instructor
rfav2@pdx.edu

Sean Fredenburg
Classical Saxophone Instructor
scf2@pdx.edu

Denise Fujikawa
Harp Instructor
fujikawa@pdx.edu

Damien Geter
Voice Instructor
dgeter@pdx.edu

Dan Gildea
Jazz Guitar Instructor
gildea@pdx.edu

Tim Gilson
Jazz Bass Instructor
gilsont@pdx.edu

Jon Greeney
Timpani Instructor
jgreeney@pdx.edu

Kelly Gronli
Oboe Instructor
kgronli@pdx.edu

Carl Halvorson
Classical Voice Instructor
carlh@pdx.edu

Lauren Hanover
Script Analysis Instructor
lhanover@pdx.edu

Julie Jacobs
Jazz Vocal Instructor
ej2@pdx.edu

Mindy Johnston
Gamelan Instructor
mindyj@pdx.edu

Ian Kerr
Music Theory and American Music Instructor
ikerr@pdx.edu

Wynn Kiyama
Taiko Ensemble Director
wyn@pdx.edu

Liz Kohl
Yoga for Musicians Instructor
elkohl@pdx.edu

Julia Hwakyu Lee
Classical Piano Instructor
h.lee@pdx.edu

Hsin Yi Lin
Voice Instructor
hsinyi@pdx.edu

Jing Lu
Yangqin (Chinese dulcimer) Instructor
lujin@pdx.edu

Joe Manis
Jazz Saxophone, Combo Instructor
manis@pdx.edu

Dunja Marcum
Clarinet Instructor
dunja@pdx.edu

Todd Marston
Jazz Combo and Body Mapping Instructor
tod@pdx.edu

Lisa Marsh
Classical Piano Instructor, Body Mapping Coordinator
lmarsh@pdx.edu

Alex Meadows
Theater Instructor
a.w.meadows@pdx.edu

Ben Medler
Jazz Trombone Instructor
medler@pdx.edu

Daniel Mobbs
Voice Instructor
mobbs@pdx.edu

John Nastos
Jazz Saxophone Instructor
jnastos@pdx.edu

Michael O’Connell
Acting Instructor
mso@pdx.edu

Ken Ollis
Drum Set Instructor
kollis@pdx.edu

Dan Partridge
Horn Instructor
djp2@pdx.edu

Hannah Penn
Voice and Musicianship Instructor
hspenn@pdx.edu

Kerry Politzer
Jazz Piano Instructor
politzer@pdx.edu

Charlie Porter
Jazz Trumpet Instructor
chporter@pdx.edu

Jeff Putterman
Jazz Guitar Instructor
jeff.putterman@pdx.edu

Charles Reneau
Trombone Instructor
creneau@pdx.edu

Ted Rooney
Acting for Camera Instructor
trooney@pdx.edu

Mario Sandoval
Salsa Jazz Instructor
smario@pdx.edu

Megan Sand
Voice Instructor
msand@pdx.edu

Suzanne Savaria
Piano Instructor
savaria@pdx.edu

Sarah Tiedemann
Flute Instructor
sjt3@pdx.edu

Connie Titterington
Classical Piano Instructor
conniet@pdx.edu

Ezra Weiss
Jazz Piano Instructor
ezraw@pdx.edu

Denise Westby
Music Business Instructor
dmwestby@pdx.edu

Christopher Whyte
Percussion Instructor
cwhyte@pdx.edu