Search Google Appliance


FLASH Program

F- freshman L- learners A- acquiring S- skills (in) H- higher education

WHY FLASH?

Here are some dictionary meanings, which are pretty fitting to our program:

  1. To break forth into sudden flame or light (learning!) especially transiently or intermittently
  2. To burst suddenly into view or perception (global awareness)
  3. To have a sudden thought, insight, or inspiration about…(critical thinking)
  4. To feel an instantaneous understanding and appreciation of…(wellness)

 

HOW IT WORKS

Campus Rec will offer 5- 10 positions during fall term 2013 for the following employment areas: Member Services Staff, Office Assistant, Fitness Center Staff, Inclusive Rec Monitor, Marketing & Outreach, Lifeguard, and Facilities Services Staff. (Please note, specific positions are not guaranteed.) Employees will form a FLASH cohort receiving organized training and support throughout their freshman year of employment.

This program will start fall term 2013 and provide on-campus employment and development opportunities to incoming first-year students. The program is designed to provide resources and support to freshman who may be seeking their first paid job and aspire to become future leaders of Campus Rec. We are looking for students who will enhance our diverse and multi-culturally competent staff.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

  • Current Portland State University degree seeking student with freshman class standing (defined as having fewer than 30 completed college credits)
  • Maintain minimum enrollment of 6 undergraduate credits for three out of four terms in the year
  • Minimum 2.0 grade point average and maintain good academic standing during employment
  • Positive attitude
  • Commitment to Campus Rec’s mission statement
  • Successfully complete a background check
  • Must be available to attend multiple mandatory trainings (See below for times and dates) 

TO APPLY

The 2013-14 Hiring Session has closed. Please check back in Summer of 2014

Mandatory FLASH Employee Trainings

DATE

TIME

Training

Saturday, 11/2/2013

9am to 2pm

FLASH Training

Friday, 11/15/2013

9:30am-11:30am OR 12-2pm OR 2:30pm-4:30pm

New Employee Orientation

*Choose one Time*

Monday, 12/16/2013

10am-6pm

FLASH CPR Training

Tuesday, 12/17/2013

10am-1pm

FLASH First Aid

Friday, 1/3/2014

9am-2pm

FLASH Training

Friday, 12/6/2013

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 1/17/2013

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 1/31/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 2/14/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 2/28/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 3/14/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 4/4/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 4/18/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 5/2/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 5/16/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

Friday, 5/30/2014

11am-1pm

Monthly Cohort Meeting

 

Portland State University is an Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity Institution and welcomes applications from diverse candidates and candidates who support diversity.