Faculty and Staff Directory

Tenured and Tenure-track Faculty

Dr. Dean B. Atkinson, Department Chair

Applications of new measurement technology to environmental problems
atkinsdb@pdx.edu
 

Dr. Jack Barbera

Chemistry education research focusing on the development and evaluation of educational assessments and their use in measuring the effectiveness of pedagogical practice
jbarbera@pdx.edu

Dr. Albert S. Benight

Biophysical Chemistry of biological macromolecules with applications in Biotechnology
abenight@pdx.edu

Dr. Andrea Mitchell Goforth

Synthetic development, property control, analytical characterization and application of surface-tailored, size-controlled inorganic nanoparticles for biomedical imaging and nanoscale electronics
amgofort@pdx.edu

Dr. Dirk Iwata-Reuyl

Biological and bioorganic chemistry, mechanistic enzymology, modification of RNA
iwatard@pdx.edu

Dr. Tami Lasseter Clare

Developing methods to conserve material cultural heritage
claret@pdx.edu

Dr. Theresa McCormick

Ligand design and metal complexes for solar energy conversion and chiral
recognition
theresa5@pdx.edu

Dr. John J. Perona

Life processes on the early anaerobic Earth; Synthetic biology of protein translation; Integrating science, law and policy for sustainability
perona@pdx.edu

Dr. David H. Peyton

Drug discovery and development to treat infectious agents, as well as biophysical studies of biomolecules, primarily using nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
peytond@pdx.edu

Dr. Steve Reichow

Biochemistry and structural biology of membrane protein complexes using electron cryo-microscopy (cryoEM)
reichow@pdx.edu

Dr. Kevin A. Reynolds

Antimalarial drug applications
reynoldk@pdx.edu

Dr. Gwen Shusterman

Instructional development and STEM equity and inclusion
shusteg@pdx.edu

Dr. Reuben H. Simoyi

Biological and Biophysical Chemistry of Thiols in the Physiological Environment
rsimoyi@pdx.edu

Dr. Robert Strongin

Synthesis and evaluation of novel redox and chromophore materials
strongin@pdx.edu

Dr. David Stuart

Organotransition metal chemistry, catalysis, and development of new chemical reactivity for organic synthesis
dstuart@pdx.edu

Dr. Mark Woods

Focus on both fundamental and practical aspects of developing improved molecular imaging probes
markw@pdx.edu

 


Research Faculty and Staff

Dr. Jorge Escobedo

Research Assistant
Ph.D. Chemistry | Louisiana State University, 2002
M.Sc. Organic Chemistry | Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, México, 1994
B.Sc. Chemistry | Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, México, 1984
jescobed@pdx.edu

Dr. Papireddy 'Reddy' Kancharla

Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Chemistry | Acharya Nagarjuna University, 2010
M.Sc. Organic Chemistry | Osmania University, 2003
B.Sc. Chemistry | Osmania University, 2001
papiredd@pdx.edu

Dr. Jane X. Kelly

Research Professor
Ph.D. Chemistry | Portland State University, 2002
M.S. Chemistry | Portland State University, 1998
B.S. Physical Chemistry | Xiamen University, 1991
kellyja@ohsu.edu

Dr. Wentai Luo

Senior Research Associate
Ph.D. Environmental Science & Engineering | Oregon Graduate Institute, 1996
M.S. Chemistry | East China Institute of Technology, 1986
B.S. Chemical Engineering | East China Institute of Technology, 1983
wentai@pdx.edu

Dr. Shankar B. Rananavare

Research Associate Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D. | University of Missouri, St. Louis, 1983
rananavares@pdx.edu
 

 


Instructional Faculty

Angela Horgan, Ph.D., RD, LD

Angela Horgan, Ph.D., RD, LD
Adjunct Assistant Professor - Nutrition
RD | Oregon Health & Science University, 2005
Ph.D. Cell Biology | Oregon Health & Science University, 1999
B.S. Biology | Purdue University, 1991
ahorgan@pdx.edu

Andriana Lunsford, M.Ed.

Adjunct Instructor - Introductory Chemistry
M.Ed. Curriculum & Instruction | Texas A&M University, 2013
B.S. Chemistry | UC Irvine, 2010
adriana.lunsford@pdx.edu

Julie Peyton, M.S.

Adjunct Instructor - Introductory Chemistry
M.A. Biochemistry | UC Santa Barbara, 1981
M.S. Civil/Environmental Engineering | UC Davis, 1988
peytonj@pdx.edu

Patrick Poletti, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor - General Chemistry
Ph.D. Chemistry | Portland State University, 2018
polettip@pdx.edu

Shuvasree Ray, Ph.D.

Instructor & Laboratory Coordinator - Organic Chemistry
Ph.D. Organic and Supramolecular Chemistry | University of Miami, 2009
M.S. Chemistry | Indian Institute of Technology, 2004
B.S. Chemistry | University of Calcutta, 2002
shuvray@pdx.edu

David Reingold, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Scientific Glassblowing
Ph.D. | University of Oregon, 1976
A.B.| Dartmouth College, 1971
reingold@pdx.edu

Eric Sheagley, Ph.D.

Senior Instructor & Laboratory Coordinator - General Chemistry
Ph.D. Chemistry | University of Oregon, 2003
B.S. Chemistry & Biology | Univ. of So. Colorado, 1995
sheagley@pdx.edu

Kenneth Strothkamp, Ph.D.

Adjunct Assistant Professor - Preparatory & General Chemistry
Ph.D. Chemistry | Columbia University, 1973
B.S. Chemistry | The City College of New York, 1968
k.strothkamp@pdx.edu

 


Instrument Staff

Andrea DeBarber 

Director, Bioanalytical MS Facility
debarber@ohsu.edu

Leroy Laush

Instrument Technician, Science Shop
4 SBI
503-725-3832
laushl@pdx.edu

Marc Nisenfeld

Miracle Worker, Science Shop
1 SBI
503-725-3826
nisenfeld@pdx.edu


Link to faculty intranet