Search Google Appliance

Support the Wamser Student Summer Research Scholarship

Support the Wamser Student Summer Research Scholarship
All gifts up to $65,000 to this award fund, which provides a summer stipend to support research by a PSU undergraduate Chemistry major, will be matched.

Biomolecular CryoEM

Biomolecular CryoEM
The Reichow Lab is using cryoEM to illuminate the structures of biological macromolecules and characterize their functional mechanisms. This technique provides images with very high resolution, allowing us to investigate biomolecular mechanisms with atomic-level detail.

Measuring Student Learning

Measuring Student Learning
The Barbera chemistry education research group champions the development, evaluation, and use of quality assessment instruments to effectively gauge the impacts of science teaching practices.
The Department of Chemistry at Portland State University maintains a teaching program of excellence at the undergraduate level and a graduate program emphasizing cutting-edge research.

Research Funding

Jack Barbera

Associate Professor Jack Barbera received funding from the National Science Foundation to investigate impacts of the flipped learning environment on student motivation in general chemistry courses.

Niles Lehman

Professor Niles Lehman received a grant from the John Templeton Foundation for NetLife: Experimental Evolution of Networks in Abiogenesis.

Sanjay Ramprasad

Biochemistry major Sanjay Ramprasad received an Undergraduate Research Fellowship from the Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium. Sanjay works with Professor of Chemistry Niles Lehman whose research examines the chemical processes that started life on Earth more than 4 billion years ago.

Departmental News


Researchers at DesignMedix, led by Professor of Chemsitry David Peyton, have successfully combined two bioactive compounds to restore the effectiveness of anti-malarial drug neutralized by the emergence of resistant strains. Their work is featured in the inaugural issue of Research Features magazine.


Jenny Zhu was awarded the 2016 Philip Roberti Poster Award for her poster “The effect of relative humidity on sulfate aerosol optical properties using Cavity Ring-Down Spectroscopy.”

Collaborative Life Sciences Building

Courses held in the Collaborative Life Sciences Building have been scheduled to allow for travel time to and from the building; starting and ending times are offset from the main campus class time grid. Overrides for time conflicts will not be considered.


More departmental news is available through the University website's news feed; additional items are recorded here.

Alumni News

University of Kentucky Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Steven Van Lanen (PhD, 2003), seeks to discover new antibiotics in effort to combat the ever-increasing problem of antibiotic resistance. His work is featured in People Behind our Research, a video series produced by the University of Kentucky.


submit a free application for graduate study in chemistry