Driver Authorization Process

All drivers of PSU vehicles must be authorized by the University (see Driver Authorization link below) prior to operating a University Vehicle.  PSU employees and students frequently driving personal vehicles on University Business are also required to complete the Driver Authorization form, and are subject to the same driving offense criteria defined on the Driver Authorization form.  

EXCPETION:  Employees and students already approved by PSU's Campus Recreation Program and Student Activities and Leadership Program (SALP).

To obtain authorization:

Complete the PSU Driver Authorization Form.

  1. Print the form and verify driver's license.
  2. Driver signs and department head approves.
  3. Retain the form in department files
  4. Renew driver authorization every 2 years consisting of an interview between the supervisor and employee and confirming the information on the original authorization form.

Basic driver qualifications:

  • All drivers, including International faculty, are required to have a valid USA driver’s license to operate University Vehicles in United States
  • Minimum of two (2) years driving experience.
  • University Employees and students must be at least 18 years of age to operate regular passenger vehicles
  • To operate large passenger vehicles (8-12 passenger vans), employee/student must be at least 21 years old

Motor vehicle record criteria for approved use of University (owned, leased, rented) Vehicles as defined in Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 811.  To be an Authorized Driver, an employee/student shall have:

  • NOT exceeded two (2) "at-fault" accidents or violations within the last 24 months.  "At-fault" accidents are those resulting in bodily injury and/or property damage of more than $1000, where the individual seeking driving authorization was more than 50% at fault (Oregon has a 51% liability law).
  • NO traffic crimes in the past 24 months for driving under the influence of intoxicants; failure to perform the duties of a driver; criminal driving while license is suspended or revoked; fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer.
  • NO felony suspension/revocation of driving privileges (Class B Felony) or misdemeanor driver's license suspension (Class A Misdemeanor) within the last 24 months. 
  • NO more than two (2) traffic violations (Class B) within the last 12 months.
  • NO more than one (1) reckless driving conviction (Class A Misdemeanor) in the last 24 months. 
  • NO more than one (1) careless driving conviction (Class A & B traffic violation) in the last 24 months 
  • NO more than one (1) Class A traffic violation in the last 12 months.

NOTE: Traffic crime is any traffic offense punishable by jail sentence.  

Traffic violation is any traffic offense punishable by fine. 

The employee/student is responsible for their honest representation of their driving record history as they complete the PSU Driver Authorization Form and any subsequent renewal.  If it is later determined that the employee/student misrepresented their driving record history, they may permanently forfeit their driving privileges.  Any additional traffic violations or accidents that occur while driving as an Authorized Driver of the University may result in suspension or revocation of driving privileges.

UNIVERSITY DISCRETION

Notwithstanding the above criteria, University reserves the right to revoke or deny (temporarily or permanently) authorization to any driver, at any time and in its sole discretion.  This revokation must be in writing, noting any restrictions or specific conditions placed on the individual’s driving privileges. (Departments may enforce more stringent guidelines for student drivers if they wish, see SALP/CREC guidelines).  These more stringent guidelines must be in writing. Such home department approval may be revoked at any time.

Departments are not required to check drivers' records, however, they may do so at their expense.