Faculty

Academic Faculty

Robert Bass, Associate Professor

Power Engineering
Ph.D. University of Virginia
robert.bass@pdx.edu

Jonathan Bird, Associate Professor

Power Engineering
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin Madison
bird@pdx.edu
503.725.9059

David Burnett, Assistant Professor

Wireless sensor systems
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
dburnett@pdx.edu
503.725.5414

Richard Campbell, Associate Professor, IEEE Life Fellow

RFIC Design
Ph.D. University of Washington
rlc3@pdx.edu
503.725.2822

Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske, Professor

Design Automation
Ph.D. Auburn University
jeske@ece.pdx.edu
503.725.5415

Donald Duncan, Research Professor, Associate Chair

Physical and Statistical Optics
Ph.D. Ohio State University
dduncan@pdx.edu
503.725.9044

Mark Faust, Assistant Professor

Computer Architecture
M.S.E.E. Carnegie-Mellon University
faustm@pdx.edu
503.725.5412

Garrison Greenwood, Associate Professor

Computational Intelligence
Ph.D. University of Washington
greenwd@pdx.edu
503.725.2352

Mahima Gupta, Assistant Professor

Power Engineering
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
mahima@pdx.edu

Douglas V. Hall, Associate Professor

Computer Architecture and Embedded Systems
Ph.D. Portland State University
d2dh@pdx.edu
503.725.5396

Dan Hammerstrom, Professor Emeritus, IEEE Life Fellow

Biologically Inspired Computing Structures
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
dwh@pdx.edu
503.725.3820

Melinda Holtzman, Senior Instructor II

Electronics and Engineering Education
Ph.D. University of Nevada, Reno
holtzman@pdx.edu
503.725.9043

Yuchen Huang, Instructor

Computer Architecture
M.S. Portland State University
yuchen@pdx.edu

Roy Kravitz, Senior Instructor, Westside Program Director

Embedded Systems and FPGA System-On-Chip Design
M.S.E.E. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
roy.kravitz@pdx.edu
503.725.9046

Fu Li, Professor

Communications
Ph.D. University of Rhode Island
lif@pdx.edu
503.725.3824

John Lipor, Assistant Professor

Signal Processing & Machine Learning
Ph.D. University of Michigan
lipor@pdx.edu
503.725.5409

James McNames, Professor

Signal Processing
Ph.D. Stanford University
mcnames@pdx.edu
503.725.5390

Branimir Pejčinović, Professor

Microelectronics
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts, Amherst
pejcinb@pdx.edu
503.725.5416

Marek A. Perkowski, Professor

Intelligent Robotics
Ph.D. Technical University of Warsaw, Poland
perkowm@pdx.edu
503.725.5411

Tom Schubert, Instructor

Design Verification and Validation
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
tom.schubert@pdx.edu
503.725.5395

Martin Siderius, Maseeh Professor, ASA Fellow, Department Chair

Acoustics and Electromagnetics
Ph.D. University of Washington
siderius@pdx.edu
503.725.3223

Xiaoyu Song, Professor

Design Automation and Formal Methods
Ph.D. University of Pisa, Italy
songx@pdx.edu
503.725.5398

Renjeng Su, Professor, IEEE Fellow

Feedback Systems, Technology and Society
D.Sc. Washington University, St. Louis
renjengs@pdx.edu
503.725.5423

Christof Teuscher, Professor

Emerging Computing Paradigms and Architectures
Ph.D. Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland
teuscher@pdx.edu
http://bit.ly/MeetChristof

Richard Tymerski, Associate Professor

Power Electronics
Ph.D. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
tymerski@ece.pdx.edu
503.725.5424

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus Faculty Contact Information Specialty Area
Lee Casperson
Professor Emeritus, IEEE Fellow
  Optics and Lasers
W. Robert Daasch
Professor Emeritus
daasch@pdx.edu IC Design and Test 
George G. Lendaris
Professor Emeritus, IEEE Fellow
  Computational Intelligence
James E. Morris
Professor Emeritus, IEEE Fellow
jmorris@pdx.edu
503.725.3821
Nanotechnology and Electronics Packaging
Rolf Schaumann
Professor Emeritus, IEEE Fellow
  Analog Circuit Design
Lisa M. Zurk
Professor Emeritus, ASA Fellow
zurkl@pdx.edu Electromagnetics and Acoustics

 

Research Appointments

Research Appointments Contact Information Specialty Area
John M. Acken
Adjunct Research Professor 
acken@pdx.edu   Hardware Information Security and IC Test
Andrew Greenberg
Associate
adg@ece.pdx.edu Embedded Systems and Aerospace
Charles Holland
Research Professor 
hollan7@pdx.edu Ocean Acoustics
Daniel Rouseff
Research Associate Professor 
rouseff@pdx.edu Electromagnetics and Acoustics
C. Glenn Shirley
Adjunct Research Professor 
cshirley@pdx.edu Integrated Circuit Quality and Reliability
Ivan Sutherland
Visiting Scientist
ies@pdx.edu Asynchronous Research Center
Eric Wan
Research Associate Professor 
eric.wan@pdx.edu Signal Processing and Machine Learning

 

Joint Appointments

Joint Appointments Contact Information Specialty Area
Erik Sanchez
Associate Professor of Physics and ECE
esanchez@pdx.edu
503.725.3819
Electron, Optical, and Ion Microscopy development.
Raj Solanki
Professor of Physics and ECE
solanki@pdx.edu
503.725.3231

Nanotechnology

 

 Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculty Contact Information
Muhammad Ali muha@pdx.edu
Guy AlLee gallee@pdx.edu
Ian Beil ibeil@pdx.edu
David Chiang   chiangd@pdx.edu
Zeshan Chishti  zeshan@pdx.edu
Brian Cruikshank  bcruik2@pdx.edu   
Jessica Grafeen    feenstra@pdx.edu  
Jasur Hanbaba   jhanbaba@pdx.edu 
Kooho Jung  kooho@pdx.edu  
Mohammad Khayer  mkhayer@pdx.edu 
Mark Martin  marmart2@pdx.edu 
Alex Olson   aleolson@pdx.edu  
Ataur Patwary   patwary@pdx.edu  
Luis Perez  lgp2@pdx.edu 
Mihir Ravel  mravel@pdx.edu 
Song Wang   song.wang@pdx.edu 
PJ Waskiewicz  ppw@pdx.edu  
Ted Willke  willke@pdx.edu  
Phillip Wong   pkwong@pdx.edu  
Chun-Yu (Joseph) Yang  

chunyu.yang@pdx.edu