Tenure & Tenure-Line Faculty

Shirley A. Jackson, Ph.D., Professor

Areas of Interest: Race, Social Movements, Gender

Office: CH 217M
Email: shja2@pdx.edu


Daniel Jaffee, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Environmental Sociology, Globalization, Food and Agriculture, Rural Sociology, Social Movements, Political Economy

Office: CH 217H
Email: jaffee@pdx.edu
Personal Website: https://works.bepress.com/daniel-jaffee/#


Maura Kelly, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Gender, Sexualities, Work and Occupations, Popular Culture

Office: CH 217R
Email: maura2@pdx.edu


Amy Lubitow, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Mobility Justice, Transportation Inequalities, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Environmental Sociology, Critical Perspectives on Sustainability

Office: CH 217T
Email: alubitow@pdx.edu


Jose Padin, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Visions of Power, Immigration, Race, and Gender in the Media: Race and Ethnicity in the U.S. and in Comparative Perspective; U.S. Power Elite; Educational Inequalities; International Political Economy

Office: CH 217G
Email: padinj@pdx.edu


Aaron Roussell, Ph.D., Associate Professor 

Areas of Interest: Racial Capitalism, Law and Society, Community Policing, Drug Policy and Addiction, Qualitative and Quantitative methodologies. 

Office: CH 217Q
Email: roussell@pdx.edu


Emily Shafer, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Gender, Family, Health, Work, Inequality, Social Demography, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods

Office: CH 217F
Email: shafer4@pdx.edu


Dara Shifrer, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Education, Disability, Social Psychology, Teachers, Math and Science

Office: CH 217K
Phone: 503-725-9262
Email: dshifrer@pdx.edu
Personal Website: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Dara_Shifrer


Alex Stepick, Ph.D., Professor

Areas of Interest: Social Inequalities, Immigration, Race and Ethnicity, Urban Studies, Mexico and Caribbean

Office: CH 217J
Email: stepick@pdx.edu


Melissa Thompson, Ph.D., Professor

Areas of Interest: Criminology and Mental Illness

Office: CH 217N
Phone: 503-725-3614
Email: mthomp@pdx.edu


Lindsey Wilkinson, Ph.D., Department Chair, Associate Professor

Areas of Interest: Gender and Sexuality, Education, Health

Office: CH 217I
Phone: 503-725-3875
Email: lindsw@pdx.edu


Hyeyoung Woo, Ph.D., Professor

Areas of Interest: Family Demography, Health and Well-being, Race and Ethnic Relations, Korean Studies

Office: CH 217P
Personal Website: https://works.bepress.com/hyeyoung_woo/