Faculty & Staff

Locate personnel and recent publications in The Economics Department at Portland State University . . .

Full-time Faculty

Randy Bluffstone 

Professor

(503) 725-3938| bluffsto@pdx.edu | CH 241-I

Research Interests: environmental & resource economics, including climate change, energy, pollution control and deforestation in low-income countries

 

 

Sahan Dissanayake photo

Sahan Dissanayake

Assistant Professor

(503) 725-3915| sahan@pdx.edu | CH 241-F

Research Interests: Environmental Economics, Natural Resource Economics, Mathematical Programming, Ecosystem Services, Non-Market Valuation

 

John Luke Gallup

Associate Professor

(503) 725-3929| jlgallup@pdx.edu | CH 241-Q

Research Interests: Economic Development, Health Economics, Distribution and Inequality, Geography

 

John B. Hall

Professor

(503) 725-3939| hallj@pdx.edu | CH 241-P

Research Interests: Comparative Economic Systems, Evolutionary-Institutional Economics, Economics of Innovation, Frontier Economy of Amazon River Valley

 

Hiro Ito

Professor and Department Chair

(503) 725-3930| ito@pdx.edu | CH 241-H

Research Interests: Monetary economics, International finance, Economic development, Asian economics

 

Lucy KompaniyetsLyudmyla (Lucy) Kompaniyets

Visiting Assistant Professor

(503) 725-3934| lyudk9@pdx.edu | CH 241-R

Research Interests: Applied microeconomics and econometrics

 

Associate Professor and Graduate Director

(503) 725-3937| amitra@pdx.edu | CH 241-N

Research Interests: Behavioral Economics, Environmental Economics, and Microeconomics

 

Thomas Potiowsky

Professor

(503) 725-2315| potiowskyt@pdx.edu | URBN 750

Macroeconomics, Applied Econometrics, Oregon Economy

 

 

Cesar M. Rodriguez

Assistant Professor

(503) 725-3943| cesar.rodriguez@pdx.edu | CH 241-M

Research Interests: International Economics, Macroeconomics, Growth and Development Economics, Latin American Economies

 

 

Rajiv L. Sharma

Professor

(503) 725-3925| sharmar@pdx.edu | CH 241-U

Research interests: Access and disparities in health care; consumer preferences and behavior; cost-effectiveness analysis

 

Sarah Tinkler

Professor and Undergraduate Director

(503) 725-3933| tinkler@pdx.edu | CH 241-L

Research Interests: Economics education, computational linguistics, health economics

 

J. Forrest Williams

Assistant Professor

(503) 725-3908| forrest.williams@pdx.edu | CH 241-T

Research Economics: Behavioral Economics, Charitable Giving, Experimental Economics

 

James Woods

Assistant Professor

(503) 465-4883| woodsj@pdx.edu | CH 241-O

Research Interests: Energy Economics

 

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Allender

Adjunct Faculty

(503) 725-5935 | allen22@pdx.edu | CH 287-L

Industrial Organization, International Economics and Finance, Natural Resource Economics

 

Patricia Atkinson

Adjunct Faculty

(503) 725-3907| paa@pdx.edu | CH 240

Microeconomic Theory, Macroeconomic Theory, Econometrics

 

Eric FruitsEric Fruits

Adjunct Faculty

fruits@pdx.edu

Urban Economics

 

Charles Grant

Adjunct Faculty

(503) 725-5485 | grantc@pdx.edu | CH 241-S

Microeconomics, International Trade,  International Finance, Managerial Economics

 

Chantha Kim

Adjunct Faculty

(503) 725-3907 | chantha@pdx.edu | CH 240

Microeconomics

 

Sudeshna Pal

Adjunct Faculty

(503) 725-3907 | sudeshna@pdx.edu | CH 240

Applied Econometrics, Political Economy, Macroeconomics, Economic Growth and Development, International Trade

 

Mike Paruszkiewicz

Adjunct Faculty

mpar2@pdx.edu

Local and Regional Economics

 

Affiliate Faculty

 

Robin Hahnel, Affiliate Faculty
robinhahnel@comcast.ne

Leopoldo Rodriguez, International Studies
(503) 725-8245 | leopoldo@pdx.edu | EH 307

Rossitza Wooster, Dean of Graduate Studies

Administration

Anh Ly, Department Manager
(503) 725-3936 | ly@pdx.edu | CH 241-E>

Margie Port-Hansen, Office Coordinator
(503) 725-3974 | mport@pdx.edu | CH 241-A

Other Faculty & Staff