Search Google Appliance

Linus Pauling Medal Award Christopher Cummins will be recognized at the 2017 Linus Pauling Medal Award Symposium and Awards Banquet on Saturday, November 18, 2017
The Department of Chemistry at Portland State University maintains a teaching program of excellence at the undergraduate level and a graduate program emphasizing cutting-edge research.

Research Funding

Assistant Professor Steve Reichow received funding from the National Institutes of Health to apply methods in single particle CryoEM to visualize the molecular mechanisms of cell-to-cell communication guided by the gap junctions. Dr Reichow also recently received funding from the Whitehall Foundation to investigate the molecular mechanisms involved in neuronal plasticity and memory formation.

Research Associate Professor Shankar Rananavare received funding from the National Institutes of Health to pursue research on therapeutic surfactants.

Jack Barbera

Associate Professor Jack Barbera received funding from the National Science Foundation to investigate impacts of the flipped learning environment on student motivation in general chemistry courses.

Departmental News

Alexander Sandtorv won the Fulbright Norway Article of the year award for 'Metal-free Synthesis of Aryl Amines: Beyond Nucleophilic Aromatic Substitution' published in Angewandte Chemie International Edition. Dr Sandtorv and Prof. Jarle S. Diesen of Western Norwegian University of Applied Science are the recipients of Universitetsforlaget's outstanding text-book award for 2017 for their book Modern Organic Chemistry

The Department congratulates Assistant Professor Dave Stuart for receiving the 2017 John Eliot Allen Outstanding Teaching Award for Chemistry.

The Department congratulates Professor Niles Lehman on receiving the 2017 Senior Faculty Research Excellence Award in recognition of his impressive contributions to the field of chemistry and to Portland State University.


Researchers at DesignMedix, led by Professor of Chemsitry David Peyton, have successfully combined two bioactive compounds to restore the effectiveness of anti-malarial drug neutralized by the emergence of resistant strains. Their work is featured in the inaugural issue of Research Features magazine.

More departmental news is available through the University website's news feed; additional items are recorded here.

Student & Alumni News

Arnob Das, a high-school student volunteering in Research Associate Professor Shankar Rananavare's research lab, won a 1st place International Grand Award in Chemistry as well as recognition from the American Chemical Society at the 2017 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

University of Kentucky Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Steven Van Lanen (PhD, 2003), seeks to discover new antibiotics in effort to combat the ever-increasing problem of antibiotic resistance. His work is featured in People Behind our Research, a video series produced by the University of Kentucky.

Collaborative Life Sciences Building

Courses held in the Collaborative Life Sciences Building have been scheduled to allow for travel time to and from the building; starting and ending times are offset from the main campus class time grid. Overrides for time conflicts will not be considered.


submit a free application for graduate study in chemistry