Photo of the King mural at MLK and Shaver in Portland, OR

Equity at TSUSP

Equity and social justice are core values within the Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning (USP), and within our main programs of Community Development, Masters of Urban and Regional Planning, Urban Studies.

We continuously engage with equity and social justice-related issues. It is embedded in our research and teaching in many ways. Here are a few highlights we are proud of:

About the Toulan School Belonging, Justice and Dignity (BJD) Committee

The Belonging, Justice and Dignity (BJD) Committee (formerly known as the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee) is a collective of faculty and students that collaborate to identify, contest, and dismantle systems, practices and policies that perpetuate oppression (including white supremacy, anti-Blackness, colonialism, ableism and sexism, and the intersections among these) as they show up in our School and broader community. We cultivate shared accountability, and we make efforts to repair and remediate harm. 

The main areas in which this committee works include: recruitment and support of students from systemically oppressed backgrounds and identities,  enhancing faculty capacity and accountability in advancing equity and social justice, collaborating with program committees to deepent attention to equity and social justice in curriculum and other student-facing activities, prioritizing equity and social justice in school administration, budgeting, and decision-making, and engaging with other university actors such as CUPA, Admin, GDI, Faculty Senate and AAUP. Check out our current priorities and recent efforts here.

The committee includes faculty and student representatives. The committee operates in a hub and spoke model to facilitate connections.

Members of the Core (“Hub”)  Committee for the 2020-2021 Academic Year are:

  • Dr. Megan Horst (Faculty member)- CHAIR, 
  • Dr. Kacy McKinney (Faculty member)
  • Dr. Ozcan Tunalilar (Faculty member)
  • Dr. Aaron Golub (School Director and ex-officio)
  • Minji Cho (Student representative, Urban Studies)
  • Natalie Chavez (Student representative, MURP)
  • Valeria Tapia (Student representative, CD)- fall and winter
  • Isaiah Jackman (Student representative, CD)- winter and spring

Faculty Committee liaisons (“Spoke” members) for the 2020-2021 Academic Year are:

  • Dr. Jenny Liu (Undergrad Executive Committee)
  • Dr. Corbin (Masters of Urban and Regional Planning Executive Committee)
  • Dr. Julius McGee (Urban Studies Executive Committee)

Contact Us

Faculty, staff, and students are welcome to provide feedback on their experiences or their ideas related to the committee’s work by communicating with one of the committee members or scheduling time to join us at one of our bi-monthly meetings. Email us at: Students are especially encouraged to contact their student representatives. The BJD committee will also host several feedback opportunities for students during each school year.

Other Resources

See the resources and reporting page for other resources (such as and reporting options).