Faculty 

Faculty Contact Information Research Interests

Catherine de Rivera
Professor

derivera@pdx.edu
503.725.9798
SRTC 238E
Ecology and behavior of marine and estuarine invertebrates, ecological impacts of roads.

William Fish
Associate Professor

fishw@pdx.edu
503.725.4278
EB 202E
Transformation and transport of heavy metals and other contaminants in the environment.
Linda George
Professor

georgel@pdx.edu
503.725.3861
SRTC 474

Atmospheric chemistry, monitoring and modeling of urban air pollutants, assessing human exposure to and perception of air pollutants and climate change, development of measurement techniques for quantifying atmospheric species.
Jeff Gerwing
Associate Professor

jgerwing@pdx.edu
503.725.4482
SRTC B1-24C

Forest ecology, restoration, and management.
Kelly Gleason
Assistant Professor
k.gleason@pdx.edu
503.725.2334
SRTC B1-04D
Snow and ice processes in mountain environments, snow hydrology, disturbance eco-hydro-climatology, integrated modeling of water-climate-forest interactions, remote sensing, land cover change, spatio-temporal statistics, and geo-analytics. 
Elise Granek
Professor
graneke@pdx.edu
503.725.4241
SRTC B118B
Coastal marine ecology and conservation: land-sea connectivity, ecosystem services and marine ecosystem-based management.
Melissa Haeffner
Assistant Professor
melh32@pdx.edu
503.725.2497
SRTC B1-04C
Social science, water justice, urban water governance, resilience, sustainability, broader impacts, interdisciplinary collaboration.
Jennifer Morse
Associate Professor
jlmorse@pdx.edu
503.725.2826
SRTC B1-04B
Biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, urban ecology, wetlands, greenhouse gases, ecosystem restoration, and global change.

Max Nielsen-Pincus
Associate Professor & Chair

maxnp@pdx.edu
503.725.2827
SRTC B1-04E

503.725.8038 (Chair Office)
SRTC 218C (Chair Office)

Environmental legislation and policy, land use and cover change, community-based natural resource management, watershed restoration, wildfire management, sense of place, landowner psychology, agent-based modeling.
Yangdong Pan
Professor
bwyp@pdx.edu
503.725.4981
SRTC 238F
Aquatic ecology, and the ecology of freshwater benthic algae, especially diatoms.

Teaching/Adjunct Faculty

Name Contact Information Research Interests
Daniel Bedell dbedell@pdx.edu  
Leslie Bliss Ketchum leslie@samarapdx.com  
Sarah Carvill scarvill@pdx.edu
503.725.2351
SRTC 218A
US Environmental Policy, Natural Resource Politics, Water Quality, Forestry, Coastal Management, Social Science, Environmental Writing
Patrick Edwards patrick.edwards@pdx.edu
503.725.8303
SRTC 118D
 
Joe Maser maserj@pdx.edu
503.725.3194
SB1 414
 
Jocelyn Grupp-Mueller jocelyn3@pdx.edu  
David Kunz dkunz@pdx.edu  
Amy Larson larsona@pdx.edu
503.725.8105
HSB 101
 
Eugene Foster epfoster@pdx.edu  
Meenakshi Rao mrao@pdx.edu  
Arick "Kit" Rouhe arouhe@pdx.edu
SB1 414
 
Trygve Steen Retired  
Brian Turner bcturner@pdx.edu Ecology and management of biological invasions, Science outreach and communication, Invertebrate zoology, Coastal marine ecology

Emeritus Faculty

Name Contact Information Research Interests
Marion Drenser dresnerm@pdx.edu  
Roy Koch    
David Ervin dervin@pdx.edu
503.725.3194
Sustainable pest resistance management, Ecosystem service valuation, and Business sustainability.
Richard Peterson    
John Rueter rueterj@pdx.edu  
Mark Sytsma sytsmam@pdx.edu
503.725.3833.
 

Research Faculty and Staff

Name Contact Information Research Interests
Brian Steves bsteves@pdx.edu  
Kris Freitag kfreitag@pdx.edu
503.725.2468
SRTC B1-25B
Rae Selling Berry Seed Bank and Plant Conservation Program

Affiliated Faculty

Name Contact Information Research Interests
Valance Brenneis     
Janine Castro    
Juliane Fry    
Ed Guerrant guerran@pdx.edu   
Elena Nilsen    
Cara Poor    
Greg Ruiz ruizg@si.edu  
Steven Rumrill    
Robert Scheller    
Vivek Shandas vshandas@pdx.edu
503.725.5222
URBN 370L
 
Daniel Sobota    
Angela Strecker strecka2@wwu.edu  
Alan Yeakley yeakley@pdx.edu  
Ian Waite    

Staff

Name Contact Information Department Support Area
Sherie Huffman
Department Manager
sherie@pdx.edu
503.725.9856
SRTC 218B
Finances and course scheduling
Emma Spadaro
Program Coordinator
espadaro@pdx.edu
503.725.4982
SRTC 218
Office support and coordination
Becca Wilson-Ounekeo
Lab and Stockroom Coordinator
rwi2@pdx.edu
503.725.9817
SB1 425
Lab and stockroom management