Search Google Appliance


Advising and Placement in World Languages

Link to Advising for Language Requirement

WebCAPE placement test for:

 Advising For WLL Majors and Minors

 
The Department of World Languages and Literatures offers undergraduate majors in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish. It also offers undergraduate minors in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Persian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, Classical Studies, and a Certificate of Advanced Proficiency in Russian and Certificate in Teaching Japanese as a Foreign Language. It also participates in the Secondary Education Program. The Department offers the following graduate degrees: Master of Arts in World Language and Master of Arts in World Languages and Literatures.

For advising in your field, please:

-- identify an advisor in your major or minor and then
-- print out and fill in this Advising Request Form for Majors and Minors,
-- submit the form at the main office of WLL in Neuberger 491.

All WLL Advisors provide advising to students on their major as well as the university’s general education (BA & UNST) requirements.
 
Faculty Advisor e-mails:

Arabic
Dr. Hanoosh: yhanoosh@pdx.edu
Dr. Sbait: sbaitd@pdx.edu

Chinese
Dr. Pease: peasej@pdx.edu
Dr. Wadley: wadleys@pdx.edu

Classical Studies
Dr. Cosgriff (Ancient Greek): cosgriff@pdx.edu
Prof. Nidever (Latin): tnidever@pdx.edu

French  
Dr. Dolidon: dolidon@pdx.edu
Dr. Greco: grecog@pdx.edu
Dr. Perlmutter: jrp@pdx.edu
Dr. Walton: waltons@pdx.edu

German
Dr. Fischer: fischerw@pdx.edu
Dr. Fuller: fullers@pdx.edu
Dr. Menke: menket@pdx.edu

Italian
Dr. Boero:  silviab@pdx.edu
Prof. Zagarella: zagarea@pdx.edu

Japanese
Dr. Holt: joholt@pdx.edu
Dr. Kominz: kominzl@pdx.edu
Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu
Dr. Wetzel: wetzelp@pdx.edu

Persian
Dr. Sedighi: sedighi@pdx.edu

Russian
Dr. Freels: freels@pdx.edu
Dr. Friedberg: nfriedbe@pdx.edu
Dr. Hickey: hickeym@pdx.edu

Spanish
Prof. Ceciliano: ceciliano@pdx.edu

Turkish 
Dr. Basci: bascik@pdx.edu


Certificate in Teaching Japanese as a Foreign Language: 

Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu

Certificate of Advanced Proficiency in Russian:
Dr. Freels: freels@pdx.edu

Secondary Education:
For French - Dr. Walton: waltons@pdx.edu,
For German - Dr. Fischer: fischerw@pdx.edu,
For Japanese - Dr. Watanabe: watanabes@pdx.edu,
For Russian - Dr. Hickey: hickeym@pdx.edu,
For Spanish - Dr. Sanders: rsanders@pdx.edu
 
All other language programs are advised by the departmental adviser (Department Chair, Associate Chair, Spanish Advisor) and faculty overseeing the language section.

For CLAS general advising: Tony Lewis (503) 725-3822. SMSU M 305

For more information on advising, contact the departmental office at (503)725-3522 or write to wlldept@pdx.edu