Current Graduate Students

Current Graduate Students

Shalene Allen
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Work-family interface, workplace anger, high-risk occupations, incivility, employee health, well-being and safety, leadership and work stress  
Adviser: Leslie Hammer
Email Address: shallen@pdx.edu

Liana Bernard
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Diversity and Inclusion in the workplace
Adviser: Larry Martinez
Email Address: bernard5@pdx.edu

Brandy Brennan
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Adviser: Thomas Kindermann
Email Address: bbrandy@pdx.edu

Holly Brott
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests: Housing insecurity, homelessness, familial homelessness, & multi-generational poverty
Adviser: Greg Townley
Email Address: brott@pdx.edu

Tim Carsey
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Adviser: Larry Martinez
Email Address: tcarsey@pdx.edu

Sandy Cerda-Lezama
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Emerging Adulthood, First-Generation College Students, Conflicts for Latina College Students and their Parents, Mentoring on At-Risk Minority Youth, Minority Students and Academic Motivation.
Adviser: Karlyn Adams-Wiggins
Email Address: scerdal2@pdx.edu

Jared Cutler
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Meditation, implicit bias
Adviser: Kim kahn
Email Address: jmc36@pdx.edu

Julia Dancis
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Educational equity, youth-led participatory action research (YPAR), the role of art and critical consciousness in youth empowerment, curriculum development.
Adviser: Karlyn Adams-Wiggins
Email Address: jdancis@pdx.edu

James Delaney
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Adviser: Thomas Kindermann
Email Address: delaneyj@pdx.edu

Emily Denning
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Daily methodology, alcohol and health behaviors, well-being
Adviser: Cynthia Mohr
Email Address: edenning@pdx.edu

Raven Douglas
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: I am interested in power dynamics, as they relate to social issues of gender and race. Generally, I would like to further investigate how power might appear through concepts like white privilege (e.g. through racism) and toxic masculinity (e.g. through sexism and intimate partner violence), and how embracing these concepts might then influence our society as a whole and the way we approach various social and formal policies. Ultimately, I hope to emphasize the importance of utilizing empirical research to inform policy and various programs aimed toward helping both those in positions of power and those who are considered powerless.
Adviser: Eric Mankowski
Email Address: raven.douglas@pdx.edu

Stefanie Fox
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Worker mental health, mental illness stigma, gender inequality, mistreatment and incivility, interpersonal discrimination
Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang
Email Address: stfox@pdx.edu

Samantha Getzen
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Employee wellbeing, mental health, and leadership
Adviser: Tori Crain
Email Address: sgetzen@pdx.edu

Alyssa Glace
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Perceptions of sexual consent, sexual consent communication, and the way that conceptualizations of consent and sexual violence relate to physiology and health.
Adviser: Tessa Dover
Email Address: aglace@pdx.edu

Aeleah Granger
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Implicit bias; intergroup relations; group intersectionality; stereotype threat; attitudes of majority and minority groups and their perceptions of intergroup interactions; the role of social, political, and environmental contexts on implicit bias and real world outcomes
Adviser: Kim Kahn
Email Address: agranger@pdx.edu

Daniel Grimes
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: My research involves the importance of sociality in human development and its effect on behavior selection and change.  I focus on processes of social and interpersonal influence within peer networks in schools, using social cognitive mapping (SCM), social network analysis (SNA), and agent-based modeling (ABM)
Adviser: Thomas Kindermann
Email Address: dgrimes@pdx.edu

Zeinab Hachem
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Ethnic Identity; Self; Acculturation; Social Relationships; Discrimination; Implicit Biases; Diversity in the Workplace
Adviser: Tessa Dover
Email Address: zhachem@pdx.edu

Kelly Hamilton
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Diversity and inclusion, occupational health, mindfulness, self-determination and authenticity in the workplace.
Adviser: Larry Martinez
Email Address: hamil6@pdx.edu

Jason Kyler-Yano
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests:  Intimate partner violence perpetrator interventions, masculinity and masculine ideology, program evaluation, public policy, capacity building, community psychology research methods, and statistics computing
Adviser: Eric Mankowski
Email Address: jzk2@pdx.edu

Eli Labinger
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Early childhood, Development of Social Emotional Learning competencies, Promoting preschoolers' healthy transitions to kindergarten, Impacts of mindfulness practice on preschooler's SEL skills and academic readiness, Moderating factors of adjustment/learning outcomes.
Adviser: Andy Mashburn
Email Address: labinger@pdx.edu

Jaboa Lake
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Intraminority intergroup relations; collective action; political participation; civic engagement; intersectionality; multiple marginalized identities; stereotyping; prejudice; discrimination; social identity; group belonging 
Adviser: Kim Kahn 
Email Address: jaboa@pdx.edu

James Lee
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Alcohol Use, resilience, and interpersonal relationships within military populations.  
Adviser: Cynthia Mohr
Email Address: jdl6@pdx.edu

Emily Leickly
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests: Self-identified needs and perspectives of individuals with serious mental illness who are experiencing homelessness
Adviser: Greg Townley
Email Address: leickly@pdx.edu

Jordyn Leslie
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Occupational health psychology, sleep, work-family interface, safety, recovery, and occupational health interventions
Adviser: Tori Crain
Email Address: jordyn8@pdx.edu

Jen Lindwall
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Supporting traditionally underrepresented college students, mentoring, transition to college, first generation college students
Adviser: Ellen Skinner
Email Address: lindwall@pdx.edu

Aliza Lipman
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests: Trauma Prevention, Childhood Trauma, Sexual Violence Prevention
Adviser: Keith Kaufman
Email Address: alipman@pdx.edu

Luke Mahoney
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Organizational/supervisor/peer support at work, work-life interface, supervisor training and development, organizational neuroscience, philosophy of "good work"
Adviser: Leslie Hammer
Email Address: lmahoney@pdx.edu

Adrian Manriquez
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests: Batterer Intervention Programs, Intimate Partner Violence in Latino Communities, Latino Masculinities and Masculine Ideologies, Self-Help and Mutual Support Groups for Latinos, and Program Evaluation.
Adviser: Eric Mankowski
Email Address: manriq2@pdx.edu

Katy McMahon
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Motivation, aggression, affect shift, role of stress in work-life balance, occupational health, employee well-being
Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang
Email Address: km36@pdx.edu

Emma Money
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Prejudice, modern racism, sexism, police behaviors, and the influence of intersecting identities on perceptions.
Adviser: Kim Kahn
Email Address: eem5@pdx.edu

Anthony Nguyen
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang
Email Address: adn2@pdx.edu

Emma O'Connor
Area: Social Psychology
Research Interests: The social construction of masculinity and masculinity threats as
predictors of gender based and interpersonal violence. Methodological interests
include mixed-methodologies, interview methods, statistical modeling, and measure
development
Adviser: Eric Mankowski
Email Address: eoconn2@pdx.edu

Annie O'Neill
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Close Relationships, Health Promotion, Chronic Illness, Thriving, Positive Psychology, Relationship Processes, Military Couples, Veteran's Reintegration into Civilian Life and Work, Dyadic Analysis, Applied Research
Adviser: Cynthia Mohr
Email Address: anne33@pdx.edu

Lauren Park
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Diversity and discrimination in the workplace; emotions at work; research methods; and occupational health psychology. 
Adviser: Larry Martinez 
Email Address: lpark@pdx.edu

Brielle Petit
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Social-emotional learning, School Readiness and development of Executive Functions in children; impacts of mindfulness on preschoolers' self-regulation and cognitive development
Adviser: Andy Mashburn
Email Address: bpetit@pdx.edu

Cristi Pinela
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Role and mechanisms of mindfulness in self-regulation, optimal development, and eudaimonic growth; emotional intelligence, adaptive coping strategies, resilience; promotion of student engagement via programs informed by mindfulness and motivation research, that honor autonomy, agency, and diversity; self-determination theory, bio-ecological systems theory, integral theory
Adviser: Andy Mashburn
Email Address: pinela@pdx.edu

Kristen Raine
Area: Applied Developmental Psychology
Research Interests: Teacher and parent influence on academic motivation
Adviser: Ellen Skinner
Email Address: raine@pdx.edu

Jennifer Saucedo
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests:  Diversity and inclusion in the workplace, occupational health
Adviser: Tori Crain
Email Address: jsaucedo@pdx.edu

Erika Schemmel
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests:  Work-family interface, stress, occupational health, employee well-being
Adviser: Tori Crain
Email Address: schemmel@pdx.edu

Miranda Sitney
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests: Juvenile sexual offending; juvenile delinquency; the role of adverse childhood experiences in the development of young offenders. 
Adviser: Keith Kaufman
Email Address: msitney@pdx.edu

Megan Snoeyink
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace; Occupational Health 
Adviser: Larry Martinez
Email Address: snoeyink@pdx.edu

Katricia Stewart
Area: Community Psychology
Adviser: Greg Townley
Email Address: katricia@pdx.edu

Morgan Taylor
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Psychological health, recovery from work, high quality connections, civility, and engagement
Adviser: Charlotte Fritz
Email Address: motaylo2@pdx.edu

Sheila Umemoto
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: Applying existential concepts, such as death, being, and meaning of life, within interpersonal relationships (couples, parent-child dyads, etc) and examining related health outcomes
Adviser: Cynthia Mohr
Email Address: sumemoto@pdx.edu

Avery Waklatsi
Area: Applied Social Psychology
Research Interests: I’m broadly interested how advantaged and disadvantaged groups interact with each other in interpersonal settings. Within those settings I’m exploring how diversity initiatives and individually held identities influence interpersonal relationships and social functioning.
Adviser: Tessa Dover
Email Address: waklatsi@pdx.edu

Fernanda Wolburg Martinez
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests:  Diversity and inclusion in the workplace, prejudice, work-family conflict
Adviser: Charlotte Fritz
Email Address: fern@pdx.edu

Judith Zatkin
Area: Community Psychology
Research Interests:  Judith is broadly interested in sexual violence prevention. She studies the modus operandi of perpetrators of child sexual abuse, modus operandi of "powerful" offenders, campus sexual assault prevention interventions, and community perceptions of sexual violence. 
Adviser: Keith Kaufman
Email Address: jzatkin@pdx.edu

Nick Zike
Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology
Research Interests: Justice and fairness in the workplace, work motivation, workplace mistreatment and aggression, affect
Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang
Email Address: nzike@pdx.edu