Current Graduate Students

Shalene Allen

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Work-family interface, workplace anger, high-risk occupations, incivility, employee health, well-being and safety, leadership and work stress

Adviser: Leslie Hammer

Email Address: shallen@pdx.edu

 

 

 Dana Auten

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Leadership, interpersonal relationships at work, mindfulness, employee psychological health and well-being, recovery from work, and positive organizational scholarship.

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: dauten@pdx.edu

 

 Liana Bernard

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

Adviser: Larry Martinez

Email Address: bernard5@pdx.edu

 

 

Brandy Brennan

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: bbrandy@pdx.edu

 

Holly Brott

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Housing insecurity, homelessness, familial homelessness, & multi-generational poverty

Adviser: Greg Townley

Email Address: brott@pdx.edu

 

 

Heather Brule

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Academic engagement, motivational resilience, motivational development in early adolescence.  

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: brule@pdx.edu

 

Amy L. Cannell-CordierAmy L. Cannell-Cordier

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Early Kindergarten Transition programs, Early Childhood Education environments and interventions.

Adviser: Andrew Mashburn

Email Address: acordier@pdx.edu

 

Tim Carsey

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Adviser: Larry Martinez

Email Address: tcarsey@pdx.edu

 

Jaiya Choles

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: The influence of mindfulness techniques on attention, engagement, emotion regulation, and motivation during adolescent development.

Advisor: Andy Mashburn

Email Address: jcholes@pdx.edu

 

 

 Jared Cutler

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Meditation, implicit bias

Advisor: Kimberly Kahn

Email Address: jmc36@pdx.edu

 

 

 

Julia Dancis

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Educational equity, youth-led participatory action research (YPAR), the role of art and critical consciousness in youth empowerment, curriculum development.

Adviser: Karlyn Adams-Wiggins

Email Address: jdancis@pdx.edu

 

James Delaney

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: delaneyj@pdx.edu

 

Emily Denning

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Daily methodology, alcohol and health behaviors, well-being.

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: edenning@pdx.edu

 

 

 Stefanie Fox

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Worker mental health, mental illness stigma, gender inequality, mistreatment and incivility, interpersonal discrimination.

Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang

Email Address: stfox@pdx.edu

 

 

Alexa Garcia

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Adviser: Donald Truxillo

Email Address: alexa.garcia@pdx.edu

 

 Samantha Getzen

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research interests: Employee wellbeing, mental health, and leadership.

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: sgetzen@pdx.edu

 

Alyssa Glace

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Perceptions of sexual consent, sexual consent communication, and the way that conceptualizations of consent and sexual violence relate to physiology and health.

Adviser: Tessa Dover

Email Address: aglace@pdx.edu

 


 

 Aeleah Granger

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Implicit bias; intergroup relations; group intersectionality; stereotype threat; attitudes of majority and minority groups and their perceptions of intergroup interactions; the role of social, political, and environmental contexts on implicit bias and real world outcomes.

Adviser: Kim Kahn

Email: agranger@pdx.edu

 

Daniel Grimes

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: My research involves the importance of sociality in human development and its effect on behavior selection and change.  I focus on proceses of social and interpersonal influence withing peer networks in schools, using social cognitive mapping (SCM), social network analysis (SNA), and agent-based modeling (ABM). 

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: dgrimes@pdx.edu

 

 Zeinab A Hachem

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Ethnic Identity; Self; Acculturation; Social Relationships; Discrimination; Implicit Biases; Diversity in the Workplace

Adviser: Tessa Dover

Email Address: zhachem@pdx.edu

 

 

Kelly Hamilton

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Diversity and inclusion, occupational health, mindfulness, self-determination and authenticity in the workplace.

Adviser: Larry Martinez

Email Address: hamil6@pdx.edu

 

 

Sarah Haverly

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests:  Occupational health psychology, work-family interface, interpersonal relationships and dyadic processes and the workplace, training. 

Adviser: Leslie Hammer

Email Address: shaverly@pdx.edu

 

Price Johnson

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Social Network Analysis, Social Roles, Peer Influence, Engagement, Motivation, Physiological Psychology

Adviser: Andrew Mashburn

Email Address: mccloud@pdx.edu

 

Kate SackettKate Kerrigan

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Intimate partner violence prevention and intervention, gender-based violence, socirestorative justice.

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email: ksackett@pdx.edu

 

Jason Kyler-Yano

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests:  Intimate partner violence perpetrator interventions, masculinity and masculine ideology, program evaluation, public policy, capacity building, community psychology research methods, and statistics computing.  

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email Address: jzk2@pdx.edu

 

 Eli Labinger

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Early childhood, Development of Social Emotional Learning competencies, Promoting preschoolers' healthy transitions to kindergarten, Impacts of mindful practice on preschoolers' SEL skills and academic readiness, Moderating factors of adjustment/learning outcomes.

Adviser: Andrew Mashburn

Email Address: labinger@pdx.edu

 

Jaboa Lake

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Intraminority intergroup relations; collective action; political participation; civic engagement; intersectionality; multiple marginalized identities; stereotyping; prejudice; discrimination; social identity; group belonging 

Adviser: Kim Kahn

Email Address: jaboa@pdx.edu

 

Emily Leickly

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Self-identified needs and perspectives of individuals with serious mental illness who are experiencing homelessness. 

Adviser: Greg Townley

Email Address: leickly@pdx.edu

 

James Lee

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Alcohol Use, resilience, and interpersonal relationships within military populations.  

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: jdl6@pdx.edu

 

Jordyn Leslie

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Occupational health psychology, sleep, work-family interface, safety, recovery, and occupational health interventions.

Adviser: Leslie Hammer & Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: jordyn8@pdx.edu

 

 

Jen Lindwall

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Supporting traditionally underrepresented college students, mentoring, transition to college, first generation college students

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: lindwall@pdx.edu

 

 

Aliza Lipman

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Trauma Prevention, Childhood Trauma, Sexual Violence Prevention

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: alipman@pdx.edu

 

 

Luke Mahoney

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Organizational/supervisor/peer support at work, work-life interface, supervisor training and development, organizational neuroscience, philosophy of "good work"

Adviser: Leslie Hammer

Email Address: lmahoney@pdx.edu

 

Erin McConnell

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: violence and sexual violence prevention, school/campus climate, criminal and juvenile justice systems including alternatives, treatment, and reentry programs, community outreach and community mental health. 

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: mccon6@pdx.edu

 

Katy McMahon

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Motivation, aggression, affect shift, role of stress in work-life balance, occupational health, employee well-being

Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang

Email Address: km36@pdx.edu

 

Shawn Mehess

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Social networks research methods, creativity, neuroscience, physiological psychology, memory

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: mehess@pdx.edu

 

Emma Money

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Prejudice, modern racism, sexism, police behaviors, and the influence of intersecting identities on perceptions.

Adviser: Kim Kahn

Email Address: eem5@pdx.edu


 Michelle Myers

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Socialcultural aspects of adolescent development, equity in middle school educational contexts.

Adviser: Karlyn Adams-Wiggins

Email Address: micmyers@pdx.edu

 

Anthony Nguyen

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang

Email Address: adn2@pdx.edu

 

Emma O'Connor

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research interests: The social construction of masculinity and masculinity threats as predictors of gender based and interpersonal violence. Methodological interests include mixed-methodologies, interview methods, statistical modeling, and measure development.

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email Address: eoconn2@pdx.edu

 

Annie O'Neill

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Close Relationships, Health Promotion, Chronic Illness, Thriving, Positive Psychology, Relationship Processes, Military Couples, Veteran's Reintegration into Civilian Life and Work, Dyadic Analysis, Applied Research

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: anne33@pdx.edu

 

Lauren Park

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Diversity and discrimination in the workplace; emotions at work; research methods; and occupational health psychology. 

Adviser: Larry Martinez 

Email Address: lpark@pdx.edu

 

 

 Brielle Petit

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Social-emotional learning, School Readiness and development of Executive Functions in children; impacts of mindfulness on preschoolers' self-regulation and cognitive development 

Adviser: Andy Mashburn

Email Address: bpetit@pdx.edu

 

 

Cristi PinelaCristi Pinela

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Role and mechanisms of mindfulness in self-regulation, optimal development, and eudaimonic growth; emotional intelligence, adaptive coping strategies, resilience; promotion of student engagement via programs informed by mindfulness and motivation research, that honor autonomy, agency, and diversity; self-determination theory, bio-ecological systems theory, integral theory.

Adviser: Andy Mashburn

   Email Address: pinela@pdx.edu

 

Amy Pytlovany 

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Adviser: Donald Truxillo

Email Address: pyt@pdx.edu

 

 Kristen Raine

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Teacher and parent influence on academic motivation

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: raine@pdx.edu

 

 

Nicolette Rickert

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Adolescent academic motivation, school engagement, achievement goals, implicit self theories.

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address:nrickert@pdx.edu 

 

 

Joe SherwoodJoe Sherwood

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Organizational health, work-life balance, multicultural, productivity.

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: joseph.sherwood@pdx.edu

 

 

Miranda Sitney

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Juvenile sexual offending; juvenile delinquency; the role of adverse childhood experiences in the development of young offenders. 

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: msitney@pdx.edu

 

 

Rachel Smith

Area: Community Psychology

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email Address: rms7@pdx.edu

 

 Megan Snoeyink

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace, Occupational Health

Adviser: Larry Martinez

Email Address: snoeyink@pdx.edu

 

 Katricia Stewart

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Sense of Community, Well-being, and Contemplative Studies.

Adviser: Greg Townley

Email Address: katricia@pdx.edu

 

 

 Morgan Taylor

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Psychological health, Recovery from work, High quality connections, Civility, and Engagement.

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: motaylo2@pdx.edu

 

 

Rachel Terry

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Community mental health, inclusion of individuals with psychiatric disabilities, homelessness.

Adviser: Dr. Greg Townley

Email Address: rterry@pdx.edu

 

Hayley Tews

Area: Community Psychology

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: haytews@pdx.edu

 

Elizabeth Tremaine

Area: Applied Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Early childhood education, early music education, development of executive function skills, motivation in school

Adviser: Andrew Mashburn

Email Address: tremaine@pdx.edu

 

 

 Sheila Kathleen Umemoto

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Applying existential concepts, such as death, being, and meaning of life, within interpersonal relationships (couples, parent-child dyads, etc) and examining related health outcomes. 

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email: sumemoto@pdx.edu

 

Sarah Van Dyck

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Occupational Health Psychology, Work-Family Conflict, Peer Support, Workplace Aggression

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: vandyck@pdx.edu

 

 Whitney Vogel

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: employee and leader mental health, psychological fitness, and occupational health and safety interventions

Adviser: Jennifer Dimoff
 

Email Address: wvogel@pdx.edu

 

Judith Zatkin

Area: Community Psychology

Research Interests:  Judith is broadly interested in sexual violence prevention. She studies the modus operandi of perpetrators of child sexual abuse, modus operandi of "powerful" offenders, campus sexual assault prevention interventions, and community perceptions of sexual violence. 

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: jzatkin@pdx.edu

 

 Nicholas Zike

Area: Applied Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: Justice and fairness in the workplace, work motivation, workplace mistreatment and aggression, affect.

Adviser: Liu-Qin Yang
 

Email Address: nzike@pdx.edu