During the Covid-19 pandemic, faculty are not in their offices for office hours, but they are still available to meet with you via Zoom. Email the faculty member to ask for an appointment.

If you are in courses, make sure you also check the instructor's office hour information in the course syllabus.

Department Chair

Susan Conrad Professor UCB 335E (503) 725-8727 | conrads@pdx.edu

Faculty

Nike Arnold | Professor | UCB 325C | (503) 725-8258 | narnold@pdx.edu

Kimberley Brown | Professor |  UCB 335L | (503) 725-8194 | brownk@pdx.edu

Tucker Childs | Professor | UCB 335H | (503) 725-4099 | childst@pdx.edu

Janet Cowal | Senior Instructor and Undergraduate Adviser | UCB 335M | (503) 725-9193 | cowalj@pdx.edu

Kathy Harris | Research Faculty | UCB 301Y | (503) 725-8300 | harriska@pdx.edu

Alissa Hartig | Associate Professor | UCB 335Q | (503) 725-9986 | ahartig@pdx.edu

John Hellermann | Professor | UCB 335J | (503) 725-8732 | jkh@pdx.edu

Jenny Mittelstaedt | Senior Instructor I | UCB 325D | (503) 725-4191 | jhm@pdx.edu

Lynn Santelmann | Associate Professor | UCB 325G | (503) 725-4140 | santelmannl@pdx.edu

Jenny Stenseth | Senior Instructor II | UCB 401D | (503) 725-4140 | stenseth@pdx.edu

Tanya Sydorenko On Sabbatical through June 2021 | Associate Professor | UCB 325B | (503) 725-2386 | tsydorenko@pdx.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Jedd Schrock | Adjunct Faculty | jedd@pdx.edu

Katie Tang | Adjunct Faculty | ktang@pdx.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Staff

Sydney Meyer | Department Manager | UCB 335A | (503) 725-4098 | sydney.meyer@pdx.edu

Stephanie Sandmeyer | Department Administrator | UCB 335 | (503) 725-2040 | ssandm2@pdx.edu

Ryan Ingebrigsten | Office Assistant | UCB 335 | (503) 725-2040 | linginfo@pdx.edu

My time in the MA TESOL program at PSU was one of the most enriching experiences of my life. I'm indebted to the superb faculty and staff that helped me find my purpose and place within higher education.

 --Zachary Jones, MA TESOL alum

The faculty represent a diversity of opinions within the field. Janet Cowal showed me the importance of activism in linguistics. Kim Brown showed me by example how to show up for students and really go out of your way for them. Lynn Santelmann has such a depth of knowledge and such a pragmatic look on academia. She doesn't beat around the bush; she'll tell you exactly what you need to do in order to succeed.

  --Jake Malstrom, Applied Linguistics alum