Search Google Appliance

Strategic Planning 2014-15

Strategic Planning 2014-15
One Voice, One Plan: Working Together to Design PSU's Future

The President's Page

The President's Page
Campus updates and news from President Wiewel

Ask the President

Ask the President
President Wim Wiewel answers your questions
PSU releases powerful new Economic Development Report

Powering the Portland RegionWhen I first arrived at Portland State University six years ago, I immediately recognized three primary strengths: A solid partnership with the city and region; a go-to resource for economic development and employers; and a deep commitment to sustainability. Since then, I have made it PSU’s mission to enhance and expand on those strengths.

Now it’s time to take stock. How have we done? What kind of impact have we had on the urban region we serve? Are we making the kind of progress I promised?

A new report from our Office of Strategic Partnerships explains PSU’s role in economic development in the Portland region, puts numbers to the programs, and fleshes out the initiatives and partnerships we have undertaken. Highlights include:

  • $150 million in private venture capital and government grants generated by PSU’s Business Accelerator.
  • 650 companies supported by our Business Outreach Program.
  • 92 percent of New Seasons waste diverted or recycled instead of landfilled after help from PSU’s Community Environmental Services.
  • PSU has 33 issued patents; seven start-up companies based on PSU intellectual property; 62 active intellectual property license agreements; and 82 active intellectual property projects. 

Also read about GlobeSherpa, the hard-charging tech company that grew out of a student project and now makes ticketless apps for a number of urban transit systems. Or about how PSU’s faculty have reached out to industry to align programs and degrees to meet the needs of a changing workforce. PSU even helped a Portland cupcake baker rebrand and grow his food cart business.

As Portland and its neighbors ponder the region’s economic future, and as the Oregon Legislature gathers in Salem to move the state forward, this report is a timely assessment -- and reminder -- of how Portland State’s faculty, staff and students are making a difference.

Please give it a read and tell me what you think.

Wim Wiewel



Photo:  Powering the Portland Region: PSU' role in economic development


President Wiewel's open office hours at the

Simon Benson House

Wednesday, March 4, 10:30-11:30 a.m.

Monday, March 16th 1pm - 2pm