Search Google Appliance

Aimee Shattuck Award

Nominations Process

The Women’s Resource Center seeks nominations at the end of April each year for the illustrious Aimee Shattuck Award.  The nomination form takes about 10-15 min to complete, and the student is then invited to submit their supporting documentation. Students can also nominate themselves as well. 

Please encourage students to self-nominate, or nominate students as soon as possible because the deadline for students to submit their application materials is Sunday, May 14th at 11:59pm. Click here to submit your nomination!

The WRC Advisory Board will select a winner. The winner will receive $150, recognition on our award plaque, and celebrated at our end of year gathering on Friday June 2 at 12:00pm in the Women’s Resource Center. 

The Aimee Shattuck Award for Outstanding Service to Women

Picture of Pam Campos and Aimee ShattuckAimee Shattuck was the first professional staff coordinator of the Women’s Resource Center, serving from November 2002 to August 2007.  She facilitated the Center’s transition from a student group to a Student Services professional department. Many of our programs and services were shaped by her vision and founded on her efforts. Aimee has long worked in the feminist activist movement, serving as a director on the boards of the Portland Women’s Crisis Line and Portland International Women’s Day. A tireless advocate for students, she brought this activist spirit to PSU and has left a legacy that supports the development of women leaders on campus and prevents violence against women at Portland State. 

Each year, the WRC identifies an outstanding student in the area of service to women to be the recipient of the Aimee Shattuck Award. We seek nominations from throughout the campus community.  The WRC advisory board reviews applications and identifies finalists each year. All qualified students are encouraged to apply.

The winning applicant will meet the following criteria:

  • Identify as female
  • A minimum GPA of 3.5
  • Must be classified as a student and currently registered for at least one credit
  • May have undergraduate or graduate student standing
  • Involved with a campus organization which serves women
  • Demonstrated leadership ability
  • Service to the PSU community which has left a lasting impression in the form of new initiatives, building of new community collaborations or coalitions, and/or influenced some change in services or programs directed to women on campus

Past award Recipients and Honorees:


Anna Vetter, 2015-2016

Sheena Ino, 2014-2015

Pam Campos, 2013-2014 

Kari Anne McDonald, 2012-13 

Christine Jarlstrom, 2011-12 

Miranda Williamson, 2010-11 

Zena Piccolo, 2009-10