Accounting student named NCAA I FCS Academic All-Star
Author: Mike Lund, PSU Vikings
Posted: January 9, 2013

Read the original article here

CLEVELAND -- Portland State junior center Mitch Gaulke was one of 54 players selected as an honoree on the 15th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team presented by KP Sports. There were 98 total nominees from across the nation. Three conferences had seven student-athletes named to the All-Star Team - the Big Sky Conference, Missouri Valley Football Conference and the Southern Conference.

Gaulke, from West Linn (OR) High School, has been a two-year starter at center for the Vikings, leading one of the most prolific offenses in the Big Sky Conference and the FCS level (438.7 yards/34.8 points per game in 2012). He was part of an offensive line that allowed only seven sacks the entire 2012 season despite 343 pass attempts, and led the way for 216.5 rushing yards per game and 30 rushing touchdowns.

On the academic side, Gaulke has been the team leader the past two seasons as well. A Business Administration: Accouting major, he is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 selection for all of Division I football, a two-time Mike Schrunk Scholar-Athlete of the Year award winner for his team, and he will receive a third Academic All-Big Sky Conference honor later this month.

"The FCS ADA is pleased to honor the accomplishments of our football student-athletes each year with our Academic All-Star Team," said FCS ADA President Ron Strollo, director of athletics at Youngstown State University. "The accolades of these young men both in the classroom and on the field epitomize the definition of student-athlete and our Association looks forward to recognizing their accomplishments annually."

Football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials.

He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Ron Strollo, Youngstown State (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

Other Vikings Named FCS ADA Academic All-Stars
2001 - Juston Wood, QB
2002 - Juston Wood, QB
2003 - Joey King, LB
2004 - Joey King, LB
2005 - Joey King, LB
2006 - Jordan Senn, LB
2007 - Jordan Senn, LB
(King and Senn were also named CoSIDA Academic All-Americans twice each).