Search Google Appliance


As professionals in Student Affairs, we use professional standards and theory to inform our practice and our assessment processes.  In this document, you will learn how to use the Council for the Advancement of Standards (CAS) and their associated Self-Assessment Guides (SAGS) to evaluate programs and services. You will then learn how to use the Frameworks for Assessing Learning & Development Outcomes (FALDOs) to assess student learning. CAS_SAGs_FALDOs_V8.pdf

What are the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS)?

CAS promotes standards in student affairs, student services, and student development programs. CAS standards are used to foster and enhance student learning, development, and achievement, and to promote good citizenship. CAS has 43 Functional Areas pertaining to programs in Student Affairs, including the Masters-Level Graduate Programs for Student Affairs). These Functional Areas also have Self-Assessment Guides called “SAGs”. So, there are 43 sets of standards and 43 Self-Assessment Guides. All CAS Standards and SAGS are provided in our shared Google docs for EMSA.

Academic Advising Programs
Adult Learner Programs and Services
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drug Programs
Assessment Services
Auxiliary Services Functional Areas
Campus Activities Programs
Campus Information and Visitor Services*
Campus Police and Security Programs*
Campus Religious and Spiritual Programs
Career Services*
Clinical Health Services
College Honor Societies
College Unions
Commuter and Off-Campus Living Programs
Conference and Event Programs*
Counseling Services*
Dining Service Programs
Disability Resources and Services
Education Abroad Programs
Fraternity and Sorority Advising Programs
Graduate and Professional Student Programs and Services
Health Promotion Services
Housing and Residential Life Programs
International Student Programs and Services
Internship Programs
Learning Assistance Programs
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Programs and Services*
Master’s Level Student Affairs Professional Preparation Programs
Multicultural Student Programs and Services
Orientation Programs
Parent and Family Programs*
Recreational Sports Programs
Registrar Programs and Services
Service-Learning Programs
Sexual Assault and Relationship Violence Prevention Programs*
Student Conduct Programs
Student Leadership Programs
Transfer Student Programs and Services*
TRIO and Other Educational Opportunity Programs
Undergraduate Admissions Programs and Services*
Undergraduate Research Programs
Veterans and Military Programs and Services*
Women Student Programs and Services

*New or revised since 2009 edition

Citation: Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (2012). CAS professional standards for higher education (8th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.

What are the Frameworks for Assessing Learning and Development Outcomes (FALDOs)?

FALDO is used in conjunction with the CAS standards and is organized around one of the 16 learning domains identified by CAS. Each framework is organized around a learning domain—for example, intellectual growth, realistic self-appraisal, or leadership development. Frameworks were designed to further enable practitioners to conduct assessment and evaluation procedures that focus on student learning and development. Each framework includes: (a) an introduction, (b) the theoretical context for the domain’s learning and development, (c) relevant variables and indicators, (d) assessment examples including both quantitative and qualitative methodologies, (e) assessment, evaluation, and research tools available in the public domain, (f) related websites, (g) references, and (h) related materials and recommended readings.

Citation: Strayhorn, T. L. (2006). Frameworks for assessing learning and development outcomes in higher education. Washington, DC: Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education.