Student Success Effort

In support of our student success goals, PSU, led by Provost Susan Jeffords, has outlined a strategic framework for organizing and coordinating a campus-wide focus on our shared Student Success Effort. This framework includes executive support from Inerim President Percy for the Leadership Council that will be responsible for steering, coordinating and assessing PSU’s commitment to improving student success outcomes. 

We’ve organized the Student Success Effort into 4 pillars or focus areas. These include Persistence, Academic Success, Affordability, and Student Experience, all supported by the strategic use of data. We will pay careful attention to the institutional data we use to define our metrics, set explicit targets, and put powerful data tools in the hands of the people best positioned to act on that data.

If you’d like to share any ideas or feedback on the Student Success Effort, including if you’re interested in receiving periodic updates, please let us know.

Leadership Council

The Student Success Effort Leadership Council will be responsible for steering, coordinating and assessing PSU’s commitment to improving student success outcomes. The Leadership Council includes key colleagues from across campus, including the Presiding Officer of the Faculty Senate, Academic Deans, the offices of Global Diversity and Inclusion, Student Affairs, Information Technology, Enrollment Management, the Budget Office and the PSU Foundation. 

  • Susan Jeffords (Chair), Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Academic Affairs
  • Kirk Kelly (Vice-Chair), Chief Information Officer, Office of Information Technology
  • Cliff Allen, Dean, School of Business
  • Cindy Baccar, Associate Vice Provost & University Registrar, Academic Affairs
  • Tom Bielavitz, Dean, University Library
  • Matt Carlson, Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Julie Caron, Interim Vice President, Global Diversity & Inclusion
  • Chuck Knepfle, Vice President for Enrollment Management, Enrollment Management
  • Kevin Reynolds, Vice President Finance and Administration, Finance & Administration
  • Sarah Schwarz, Executive Vice President, Portland State University Foundation
  • Michele Toppe, Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Dean of Student Life, Student Affairs
  • Ex Officio
    • Chris Broderick, Associate Vice President, University Communications
    • Isabel Jaén-Portillo, Professor and Presiding Officer, Faculty Senate
    • Kathi Ketcheson, Director, Institutional Research & Planning
    • Dave Maddox, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Budget and Planning, Academic Affairs
  • Project Manager
    • Hans VanDerSchaaf, Director of Projects, Office of Student Success

Feel free to contact us with any questions.