Search Google Appliance


Portland State awarded $1.7 million federal contract for youth mental health services
Author: University Communications
Posted: November 16, 2015

Portland State University’s Regional Research Institute has been awarded $1.7 million over five years to provide training and technical support for mental health programs serving children, youth, young adults and their families. 

The federal contract builds on the institute’s ongoing work in researching, assessing, training and supporting mental health services for young people. Staff members from the Research and Training Center for Pathways to Positive Futures, National Wraparound Initiative and EASA Center for Excellence will play key roles in carrying out the contract.

“We are grateful for this federal support,” said Janet Walker, research associate professor in the School of Social Work. “It will allow us to work directly with communities as they build and improve their programs for youth and young adults who experience mental health conditions. Our goal is to help programs maximize their positive impact by basing their work on evidence and best practices.”

Researchers will provide podcasts, web-based training modules, assessments, consultation and other services to communities and states across the nation.

PSU is one of 14 universities and organizations to receive funding from a University of Maryland contract with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. PSU will serve as a National Training and Technical Assistance Center for Child, Youth and Family Mental Health, operated by the National Technical Assistance Network for Children’s Behavioral Health (TA Network). 

 “The TA Network includes the foremost leaders and designers of children’s systems with years of experience developing, guiding and implementing reforms in the very states that our nation looks to as effective models,” said Michelle Zabel, director of the TA Network.

Other PSU researchers working on the contract are Nancy Koroloff, Jennifer Blakeslee, John Ossowski, Tamara Sale and Ryan Melton.