Veterans Certification HR 3230 Veterans Access, Choice Accountability Act of 2014

HR 3230 – Veterans Access, Choice & Accountability Act of 2014

Starting Summer 2015, Portland State University (PSU) is participating in the federal Veterans Access, Choice & Accountability Act of 2014.  The program grants the equivalent of resident tuition and fee rates to qualified students. Certain program limitations apply.

Eligibility Requirements

If you are the veteran:

  • You must be using benefits under Chapter 30 or Chapter 33
  • You must be living within the state of Oregon
  • You must enroll at PSU within 3 years of your discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.

If you are a spouse or dependent:

  • You must be using benefits under Chapter 33 Transfer of Entitlement or the Machine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship.
  • You must be living within the state of Oregon
  • You must enroll at PSU within 3 years of the veteran’s discharge from a period of active duty service of 90 days or more OR within 3 years of the Service Member’s death in the line of duty following a period of active duty service of 90 days or more.

Initial Application

Submit the following documents to the Veterans Certification Office, in the lobby of Fariborz Maseeh Hall:

  • All students must provide a copy of the veteran's DD-214
  • Veterans must provide a copy of their Certificate of Eligibility showing that they are receiving benefits under Chapter 30 or Chapter 33.
  • Spouses and Dependents must provide a copy of their Certificate of Eligibility showing that they are benefits under Chapter 33 Transfer of Entitlement or the Machine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship.

Maintaining Eligibility

  • All students must be continuously enrolled in all terms except Summer quarter to ensure that eligibility for the benefit is maintained.
  • If the student stops out, then re-enrolls at PSU within the 3 year period after discharge date (as noted on the DD-214), the student may still be eligible for the benefit and should contact the Veterans Certification Office immediately.
  • If the student stops out, then re-enrolls at PSU after more than 3 years has passed since the discharge date (as noted on the DD-214), the student will no longer be eligible for the benefit.
  • If the student completes a degree program while using the benefit, they will be eligible to continue using the benefit for a subsequent degree program as long as they start the new program in the term directly following graduation.

Awards

Qualified students will be charged tuition and fees at no greater than the resident rate.
 
Please Note: It is required that that term of initial enrollment at PSU is within the 3 year period after discharge date (as noted on the DD-214). Eligibility cannot be carried over from another school after the 3 year period after discharge date has passed.