Search Google Appliance


Honoring those who promote diversity
Author: Currently
Posted: May 20, 2013

On May 22, President Wim Wiewel will present eight awards honoring exceptional work in promoting and honoring diversity at the University and the Portland Community. The President's Diversity Awards Celebration is scheduled from 3 to 6 p.m. in the Native American Student and Community Center. RSVP online.

Honorees were nominated by their peers, and the awards are hosted by the PSU Diversity Action Council and the PSU Office of Global Diversity and Inclusion.

Award recipients

Undergraduate Student Award: Kevin Thomas, majoring in Women Studies and Indigenous Studies, CLAS

Graduate Student Award: Eric Ernesto Aguilar, Master Degree student in Applied Linguistics, CLAS

Faculty Award: Dr. Masami Nishisiba, Assistant Professor, Public Administration, College of Urban and Public Affairs

Staff Award: Kanaan Kanaan, Middle East Student Advisor; Melanie Dixon-Cardwell, Assistant Director of Diversity & Multicultural Student Services

Team Award: Students for Social Action (Leadership Team: Patricia Narvaez, Matt Chorpenning, and Malika Edden), MSW Program, School of Social Work

Almunus Award: Mark Jackson, Vice President and Executive Director, REAP: Reaching and Empowering All People

Donor Award: Dr. Keren Brown Wilson, Assistant Professor, Institute on Aging, Urban and Public Affairs

Commission on the Status of Women Essay Winners

Pamela Campos-Palma, Political Science major, undergraduate

Samira Razaei, Physics major, undergraduate

Annie Spencer Scholarship award

Taylor Harris, Speech & Hearing Sciences and Spanish major, undergraduate

David & Linda Smeltzer Scholarship award

Gina Barnhill, Future PSU student from Lake High School in Uniontown, Ohio