Automatic Class Google Groups
Soon after registration begins for a new term a Google Group is created for each course in Banner. This group is temporary and will be deleted one year after the term ends.
Understanding Automatic Class Groups
Groups are temporary, and thus are best used as a tool for faculty wishing to give one way announcements to their class (such as cancellations, assignment updates, etc.). All group history will be deleted at the end of the term. However, a copy of the email sent to the group can be found in the sender's Sent mail folder. Faculty wishing to record an online discussion for purposes of tracking course participation are encouraged to use D2L.
Features of these groups include:
- Groups will be visible only to the instructor assigned to the course.
- Banner Add/Drops will be automatically updated to the group.
- Instructors may delegate management of the group, and add/remove group members.
Note: When the instructor adds group members who are not enrolled in the course, they should change the member's role to Manager. Otherwise the user will be automatically removed from the Google Group at the end of the day.
To locate any Google Group, click on the groups link found at the top left of any pdx.edu Google app, such as the Calendar (cal.pdx.edu).
Contact the Helpdesk for additional assistance.