Giving: Spring 2009
Author: Kathryn Kirkland
Posted: June 1, 2009

President Wim Wiewel and Fariborz MaseehFARIBORZ MASEEH—alumnus, engineer, and philanthropist—received the 2009 Simon Benson Award in a room overflowing with those who give. Past award recipients were invited to the 10th anniversary event for special recognition by the new president, Wim Wiewel.

Awards were the theme of the evening. Rosalynn Carter, featured speaker and former first lady, recognized three Portland State programs with first-ever Carter Foundation awards for outstanding campus-community partnerships. Stroke Camp Northwest won first place, and second place prizes went to the Portland Public Schools Migrant Education Program and the Community English as a Second Language Project.Rosalyn Carter

The evening raised more than $200,000 for support of student and faculty scholarship. Wells Fargo provided lead support for the event, which is named for Portland philanthropist and timber baron Simon Benson (1851-1942).

Photos by (c)2009 Prints Charming Photography.

All honorees

Fariborz Maseeh '80, MS '84 - 2009
Gwen Burns Family - 2008
Sam Wheeler - 2008
Jane K. '65 MS '77 and Robert K. Morrow'63 - 2007
Sharon L. and Robert G. Miller - 2007
Barbara '68 and Gary Ames '67 - 2006
Marta '90 and Ken Thrasher - 2006
Caroline P. and Thomas B. Stoel - 2004
Patricia Wessinger - 2004
Elizabeth H. Johnson - 2003
James F. Miller - 2003
Jeannine B. Cowles - 2002
Ernest C. Swigert - 2002
Julie and Peter Stott - 2001
Cindy and Duncan Campbell - 2001
Mary and Maurie Clark - 2000
Don Frisbee - 2000
Paul Bragdon -1999
Jean Vollum - 1999