Music & Theater Faculty

Full-time Faculty

 

Dr. Bonnie Miksch

School Director, Composition Area Coordinator

Office: LH 231D
bonnie@pdx.edu | 503.725.3063

 

 Darrell Grant

Associate Director, Jazz Piano/Improv Professor

Office: LH 237B
grantd@pdx.edu | 503.781.2135

 

Karin Magaldi

Associate Director of Theater, Playwriting and Dramaturgy Professor

Office: LH 213C 
magaldk@pdx.edu | 503.725.4642

 Devon Allen

Acting/Directing Professor

Office: LH 325
devona@pdx.edu | 503.725.4701

 

 Sherry Alves

Jazz Vocals Professor

Office: LH 32
alves4@pdx.edu | 503.725.3180

 

 Dr. Ron Babcock

Graduate Coordinator, Trombone/Music Ed Professor

Office: LH 326B
babcocr@pdx.edu | 503.725.3181

 

 Dave Bamonte

Brass Area Coordinator, Trumpet Professor

Office: LH 27
bamonted@pdx.edu | 503.725.3124


 Dr. Harry Baechtel

Classical Voice Professor

Office: LH 345B
baechtel@pdx.edu | 503.725.3153 

 

 Dr. Joel Bluestone

Percussion Area Coordinator

Office: LH 31
bluestj@pdx.edu | 503.725.3182

 

 Dr. Sydney Carlson

Flute Professor

Office: LH 30
sydneyc@pdx.edu | 503.725.3064

 

 Dr. Susan Chan

Piano Area Coordinator

Office: LH 248
chanss@pdx.edu | 503.725.3119

 

 Hamilton Cheifetz

Strings Area Coordinator

Office: LH 326G
cheifetzh@pdx.edu | 503.725.3185

 

 George Colligan

Jazz Area Coordinator

Office: LH 32
ghc@pdx.edu | 646-620-8286

 

 Tomas Cotik

Assistant Professor of Violin

Office: LH 245C
tcotik@pdx.edu | 503-725-8215

 

 Chuck Dillard

Collaborative Piano Area Coordinator

Office: LH 227
cad8@pdx.edu

 

 Debbie Glaze

Music Education Area Coordinator

Office: LH 239B
glazed@pdx.edu | 503.725.3155

 

 Dr. Brad Hansen

Theory Area Coordinator

Office: LH 237C
hansenb@pdx.edu | 503.725.3197

 

 Dr. Barbara Heilmair

Woodwinds Area Coordinator

Office: LH 243E
heilmair@pdx.edu | 503.725.3199

 

Edward Higgins

Associate Professor of Music (Online)

Office: LH 313e
ehiggins@pdx.edu | 503.725.3051
 

 Bruce Keller

Theater Technical Director

Office: LH 145B 
kellerb@pdx.edu | 503.725.4608

 

 Jesse McCann

Classical Guitar Area Coordinator

Office: LH 227
jmccann@pdx.edu

 

 Christine Meadows

Classical Voice Area Coordinator

Office: LH 345C
meadowsc@pdx.edu | 503.725.5463

 

 Jon Newton

Music Technology Coordinator

Office: LH 326E
jnewton@pdx.edu | 503.725.3110

 

 Jelena Schiff

Music History

Office: LH 237c
jes@pdx.edu | 503.725.3195

 

 Dr. Ken Selden

Director of Orchestra

Office: LH 245B
kselden@pdx.edu | 503.725.3130

 

 Dr. Ethan Sperry

Director of Choirs

Office: LH 239A
esperry@pdx.edu | 503.381.7822

 

 Karen Strand

Oboe Professor

Office: LH 200B
strandk@pdx.edu | 503.725.3179

 

 Pat Vandehey

Director of Bands

Office: LH 29
pvan2@pdx.edu | 503.725.3010

 

 Richard Wattenberg

Theater History Professor

Office: LH 145a
wattenr@pdx.edu | 503.725.4602

 

 Anwyn Willette

SAMP Area Coordinator
Office: LH 227
willette@pdx.edu

 

 


Adjunct Faculty
 

 Jea Alford

Costume Instructor

Office: LH 313D
alfordje@pdx.edu
 

 Donna Lorrain Bahr

Acting Instructor

Office: LH 313D
lorrainebahr@comcast.net

 

 Julia Banzi

World Music Instructor

Office: LH 243C
jbanzi@pdx.edu

 

 Luigi Boccia

Voice Instructor

Office: LH 243C
luigiboccia@me.com

 

 Charles Bolton

Music Education Instructor

Office: LH 243C
tubasat@aol.com

 

 Kenji Bunch

Viola/Composition Instructor

Office: LH 243C
kenjibunch@gmail.com

 

 Ja'Ttik Clark

Tuba Instructor

Office: LH 243C
shin_battousai@hotmail.com

 

 Steve Conrow

Trumpet Instructor

Office: LH 243C
scconrow@hotmail.com

 

 Florian Conzetti

Music Theory Instructor

Office: LH 243C
conzetti@pdx.edu

 


 Phil Cuomo

Theater / Movement Instructor

Office: LH 313D
philipcuomo@gmail.com

 

 Nina Decesare

Bass Instructor

Office: LH 243C
ninadecesare@gmail.com

 

 Mario Diaz

Classical Guitar Instructor

Office: LH 243C
msdz77@me.com

 

 Damian Erskine

Jazz Bass Instructor

Office: LH 237A
damian.erskine@gmail.com

 

 Renée Favand-See

Composition Instructor

Office: LH 243C
rfav2@pdx.edu

 

 David Franzen

Classical Guitar Instructor

Office: LH 243C
franzenmusic@msn.com

 

 Dr. Sean Fredenburg

Classical Saxophone Instructor

Office: LH 343B
scf2@pdx.edu

 

 Denise Fujikawa

Harp Instructor

Office: LH 343C
fujikawa@pdx.edu

 

 Dan Gildea

Jazz Guitar Instructor

Office: LH 243C
dan.gildea@gmail.com


 

 Tim Gilson

Jazz Bass Instructor

Office: LH 243C
jongreeney@gmail.com

 

 Jon Greeney

Timpani Instructor

Office: LH 243C
timwgilson@gmail.com

 

 Carl Halvorson

Classical Voice Instructor

Office: LH 343D
carl@whalecove.com
 

 Lauren Hanover

Script Analysis Instructor

Office: LH 313D
lhanover@pdx.edu

 

 Amy Hansen

Voice Instructor

Office: LH 243C
 

 

 Gordon Hayes

Stage Makeup Instructor

Office: LH 313D
gvhayes45@gmail.com

 

 Matt Hayward

Classical Voice Instructor

Office: LH 343D
mhayward@pdx.edu

 

 Jimmie Herrod

Jazz Vocal Instructor

Office: LH 243C
jiherrod@pdx.edu

 

 Eleanor Howe

Jazz Vocal Instructor

Office: LH 243C
elhowe@pdx.edu

 

 Julie Jacobs

Jazz Vocal Instructor

Office: LH 243C
jej2@pdx.edu

 

 Jeff Johnson

Bass Instructor

Office: LH 243C
JjmtJohnson@aol.com

 

 Mindy Johnston

Gamelan Instructor

Office: LH 243C
mindyj@pdx.edu

 

 Mindy Johnston

Gamelan Instructor

Office: LH 243C
mindyj@pdx.edu

 

 Alan Jones

Jazz Combo Instructor

Office: LH 243C
alanjones@miramont.com

 

 Ian Kerr

Percussion Instructor

Office: LH 243C
ian.kerr.percussion@gmail.com

 

 Texu Kim

Music Theory Instructor

Office: LH 243C
texu@pdx.edu

 

 Dr. Wynn Kiyama

Taiko Ensemble Director

Office: LH 243C
wyn@pdx.edu
 

 Nelly Kobalev

Violin Instructor

Office: LH 243C
 

 

 Liz Kohl

Yoga for Musicians Instructor

Office: LH 201
elkohl@pdx.edu

 

 Evan Kuhlmann

Bassoon Instructor

Office: LH 343B
evanmkuhlmann@gmail.com

 

 Dr. Julia Hwakyu Lee

Classical Piano Instructor

Office: LH 315
hwakyu@pdx.edu

 

 Jing Lu

Yangqin (Chinese dulcimer) Instructor

Office: LH 201
lujin@pdx.edu

 

Joe Manis

Jazz Saxophone, Combo Instructor

Office: LH 201
joemanis@hotmail.com

 

 Lisa Marsh

Classical Piano Instructor, Body Mapping Coordinator

Office: LH 201
lmarsh@pdx.edu

 

 Alex Meadows

Theater Instructor

Office: LH 313D
alexm2@pcs.org

 

 Ben Medler

Jazz Trombone Instructor

Office: LH 243C
medler@pdx.edu
 

 John Nastos

Jazz Saxophone Instructor

Office: LH 243C
john@johnnastos.com

 

 Angela Niederloh

Voice Instructor

Office: LH 243C
aniederloh@gmail.com


 Beth Noelle

Jazz Vocal Instructor

Office: LH 243C
bethnoelle@pdx.edu

 

 Michael O’Connell

Acting Instructor

Office: LH 313D
mikeis42@gmail.com

 

 Ken Ollis

Drum Set Instructor

Office: LH 243C
kollis@pdx.edu

 

 Scott Parker

Theater Improvisation Instructor

Office: LH 313D
parkers@pdx.edu

 

 Dan Partridge

Horn Instructor

Office: 243C
djp2@pdx.edu

 

 Hannah Penn

Voice Instructor

Office: LH 243C
mezzomoxie@gmail.com

 

 Kerry Politzer

Jazz Piano Instrctor

Office: 243C
politzer@pdx.edu

 

 Richard Poppino

Classical Voice Instrctor

Office: 243C
poppino2@pdx.edu 

 

 Jeff Putterman

Jazz Guitar Instructor

Office: LH 237A
jeffputterman52@gmail.com

 

 Charles Reneau

Trombone Instructor

Office: LH 243C
charleyreneau@gmail.com

 

 Ted Rooney

Acting for Camera Instructor

Office: LH 313D
trooney@pdx.edu

 

 Mario Sandoval

Salsa Jazz Instructor

Office: LH 243C
smario@pdx.edu

 

 Suzanne Savaria

Classical Piano Instructor

Office: LH 243C
savaria@pdx.edu

 

 Derek Sims

Jazz Trumpet Instructor

Office: LH 243C
trumpetman70@yahoo.com

 

 Matthew Solomon

Classical Guitar Instructor

Office: LH 243C
solomonguitar@gmail.com


 Pamela South

Classical Voice Instructor

Office: LH 243C
southp@pdx.edu

 

 Connie Titterington

Classical Piano Instructor

Office: LH 201
conniet@pdx.edu

 

 Ezra Weiss

Jazz Piano Instructor

Office: LH 243C
ezweiss@hotmail.com

 

 Denise Westby

Music Business Instructor

Office: LH 243C
denise.westby5@gmail.com

 


 Megan Wilkerson

Design / Scenic Design Instructor

Office: LH 313D
mwilker2@pdx.edu

 

 

Staff
 

 Brenda Honeyman

Scheduling Coordinator

Office: LH 231C
honeyman@pdx.edu | 503.725.3382
 

 Heather Myers

Operations Manager

Office: LH 231E
hmyers@pdx.edu | 503.725.3175

SaveSave

SaveSave