Three Portland business leaders join the PSU Foundation board
Author: John Kirkland, University Communications
Posted: July 6, 2012

Tamara Neitzke, assistant treasurer and corporate finance manager at Portland General Electric; Jared Holum, an audit shareholder with Perkins & Company; and Kurt Bruun, chief operating officer of Lorentz Bruun Co., have joined the PSU Foundation Board of Directors.

Neitzke, a CPA, has worked in the financial sector for 27 years and has been on the PGE management team since 2007. Prior to PGE, she was a senior manager at the Portland office of KPMG, a national audit, tax and advisory services firm.  She is a graduate of Oklahoma State University and received a post baccalaureate certificate in accounting from Portland State.

Holum, also a CPA, joined the accounting firm Perkins & Company in 2003 after spending 10 years working for an international accounting firm and three years as a chief financial officer and controller in private industry. He has experience planning and managing financial statement audits of companies ranging from startups to multinational clients with revenues exceeding $750 million.

Bruun manages the day-to-day operations of his family’s 66-year-old construction firm. He is also president of its sister company, Bruun Properties, which manages more than 750,000 square feet of industrial, office and retail properties in addition to several development projects.

The PSU Foundation is an independent tax-exempt organization that enhances the development of Portland State University (PSU) through relationships, resources, and guidance. Gifts to the Foundation advance PSU by providing scholarships for outstanding students, supporting faculty research and instruction, and enhancing facilities and program development and growth.

Members are selected for their business, civic, and philanthropic leadership, their professional expertise, their ability to provide representation from a broad spectrum of community interests, and their commitment to the advancement of PSU. Neitzke, Holum and Bruun will serve three-year terms on the volunteer board.

In addition, the board has elected the following new officers for 2012-2013:

President: Pete Nickerson
Immediate Past President: Tom Fink
First Vice President: Jon Mitchell
Secretary: Annette Mulee
Treasurer/Chair of Finance & Audit Committee: Les Fahey
Vice President/Chair of Committee on Directors: Jon Mitchell
Vice President/Chair of Development Committee: Ken Thrasher/Kimberly Cooper
Vice President/Chair of Gift Acceptance Committee: Erik Lawrence
Vice President/Chair of Investment Committee: Mark Rosenbaum
Vice President/Chair of Strategic Planning Committee: Annette Mulee
Vice President/Chair of Real Estate Committee: Jeff Reaves
Vice President At-Large: Peter Stott