Portland Cartography Symposium 2013


The Portland State University Department of Geography and the Geospatial Information Society student group hosted a one-day cartography symposium on 8 November, in the Smith Memorial Student Union on the PSU campus. We had a full day of presentations, including a keynote address by Stuart Allan of Allan Cartography and Raven Maps. 


Keynote address by Stuart Allan, Allan Cartography — Maps, not data dumps: Making maps that people will be willing to look at long enough to learn something

Justin Miller, MapBox  Creating Custom Maps With TileMill and CartoCSS

Ryan Sullivan, Paste in Place — Recent Projects

Matthew Hampton, Metro — Designing a Regional Multi-scale Digital Map

Ben Sainsbury, Metro — Keeping up with the Times: Developing a Regional Government API

Aileen Buckley, ESRI  It’s About Time: GIS Brings Spatio-temporal Data to Life

Bernhard Jenny and Bojan Šavrič, Oregon State University — Adaptive Composite Map Projections

Nick Arnold, Jane Darbyshire, Lara Heitmeyer, Brooke Marston, Charles Preppernau, Steven Schuetz, and Bernhard Jenny, Oregon State University — Atlas of the Columbia River Basin — Interactive Atlases for iPads

David Banis, Corinna Kimball-Brown, Kirk McEwen, Jon Franczyk, and Daniel Coe, Portland State University — Cartographic Anarchy: Creating a Cultural Atlas of Portland


The event also included a map gallery where students and cartographic professionals from all around the region had examples of their work on display. The following individuals participated:

Stuart Allan - Allan Cartography

Joseph  Bard, Thomas Pierson, and Russell Evarts - USGS

Catherine Clark - CH2M Hill

Daniel Coe – DOGAMI

Chad Dettlaff – Port of Portland

Laura DeVito

Matt Dressler – Mountains to Sound GIS

Jon Franczyk - Quantum Spatial

Paul Fyfield, Mattye Walsworth, and Jim Rounds – BLM

Jeremy Grotbo - Portland Parks and Recreation

David Imus – Imus Geographics

Daron McCaulley – Quantum Spatial

Meg Merrick – Institute of Portland Metropolitan Studies

Kate Mickelson – DOGAMI

Randy Morris- Portland State University

Jesse Nett,  Sandy Hinkley, Mark Flannery, Connie Jenkins, Kevin Kolb, and  Matt Tharp - US Forest Service

Corey Plank - BLM                          

Ben Pontecorvo - University of Oregon

Caroline Rouwalk – Bonneville Power Administration

Courtney Shannon, Jim Labbe, and Abel Gebrezgi  – Audubon Society

Blake Swanson – University of Oregon

Alexa Todd – Portland State University

Melissa Katz-Moye - SWCA Environmental Consultants 

Michaela Skiles - Metro

Emily Tritsch and John English – City of Hillsboro

Christopher Walter - Forterra

Daniel Uthman – Portland State University
Rick Zeeb - Fugro Consultants