Department of Chemistry Seminar Series: Hans-Conrad zur Loye, University of South Carolina
Friday, February 28, 2020 - 3:15pm
Department of Chemistry Seminar Series: Hans-Conrad zur Loye, University of South Carolina
Science Building 1, room 107, 1025 SW Mill Street


University of South Carolina Professor of Chemistry, Hans-Conrad zur Loye, will present Directed Synthesis of New Actinide Containing Oxides, Fluorides, and Chalcogenides at the Department of Chemistry's weekly seminar series 

About Professor zur Loye

Dr. zur Loye is the David W. Robinson Palmetto Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, a University of South Carolina Carolina Distinguished Professor, and the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of South Carolina. He received his Bachelor of Science Degree at Brown University in 1983 and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley in 1988 under the supervision of Prof. Angela Stacy. He spent one year as a postdoctoral fellow at Northwestern University with Prof. Duward Shriver before starting as an assistant professor in the Chemistry Department of MIT in 1989.

In 1996 he moved to the University of South Carolina where his research interests focus on the area of inorganic materials chemistry, where he is best known for his research in the field of crystal growth, particularly for applying high temperature solution routes to growing crystals of complex oxides. His research group explores the crystal growth of new materials, including new scintillating and luminescing oxides and fluorides, and new uranium and thorium containing structures. In the latter case, he targets new hierarchical wasteform materials for the effective immobilization of nuclear waste in persistent architectures.

He has published over 450 papers and reviews. He is an internationally recognized leader in his research field and, as a result, received the Exxon Award in Solid State Chemistry in 1994, the University of South Carolina Educational Foundation Award for Research in Science, Mathematics and Engineering in 2006, and the IPMI Henry J. Albert Award in 2009. He was elected to the rank of Fellow of the AAAS in 2009 and was named the South Carolina Section of the ACS “Outstanding Chemist” in 2010. He was elected to the rank of Fellow of the ACS in 2011, received the Southern Chemist Award in 2011, the University of South Carolina Trustee Professorship Award in 2012, and the South Carolina Governor's Award for Excellence in Scientific Research in 2016. He was the recipient of the Charles H. Stone Award from the ACS Carolina Piedmont Section, as well as of the Breakthrough Leadership in Research Award from the University of South Carolina in 2017. He is an associate editor for the Journal of Solid State Chemistry and a past editor for the Journal of Alloys and Compound. Since 2010 he is a member of the ORNL Neutron Scattering Science Review Committee. He is a member and past President of the South Carolina Academy of Science, which promotes science education in South Carolina.

About the Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry maintains a teaching program of excellence at the undergraduate level and a graduate program emphasizing cutting-edge research in the chemistry of the environment, novel materials and biological systems. The Department's curriculum, faculty, library, and facilities of the department are accredited by the American Chemical Society.

The Department proudly hosts eminent scholars from throughout the field of chemistry at our weekly seminar series