Carl Campbell Award

Carl Campbell grew up, impoverished, in Colorado. Nearly blind from a childhood disease, Campbell attended blind school and mastered the ability to read sideways. In spite of his handicap, recounts Professor John Walker, an associate, Campbell was able to get his Ph.D. in Economics at University of California, Berkeley. Before coming to Portland State University in 1963, Professor Campbell taught at Carlton College, Whitman College, and the University of Massachusetts. He came to teach at Portland State University in 1963.

Campbell specialized in Microeconomic theory and mathematical economics. According to Walker, Professor Campbell could teach the subject of Microeconomics like no other. He was greatly admired by his students, and was well liked by the faculty. He had a great sense of humor and was an all around "wonderful guy." 
This short biography of Carl Campbell is a work in progress. A simple WorldCat search did not turn up any of his publications. Further investigation is needed. Walker recalls that Campbell wrote a book on the subject of Microeconomics, called, "Essays in Flatland" but it was never published. In addition to being an economist, Campbell was a poet, though no published works have been found. His dissertation was, however, published. 

The faculty at Portland State University wish to remember Carl Campbell for his indomitable spirit and a career cut short from his untimely death of cancer in 1974.

   2019 Award Winner Mitchell J. Veele 

Carl Campbell Award Archives
PSU Economics Department
2018 Connor Wulf
2017 Mattew Hall
2016 Skylar Wuite
2015 Emily Robertson
2014 Archita Goenka and Ariel Gruver
2013 Jason Junkkarinen
2012 Tyler Williams
2011 Jessica Eden and Andrew Eiden
2010 Gerald Matasy and Mitchell Green
2009 Anh Ha
2008 Andrew Pham, Aaron Reber
2007 Jeffory Johnston
2006 Jason McKenzie
2005 Carrie Cobb, Nicholas Brauns
2004 Joshua Cooley, Corey Tolliver
2003 Adam Hall

Casie Nash,
Kathryn Thomsen

2001 Jakob Lahmers,
Ain Vale
2000 Amy R. Rose
1999 Robert Loffink
1998 Phuc Vinh Dinh
1997 Yu Lin
1996 John McCann,
Peter Meazell
1995 Lani Pennington
1994 Phillip Kidd
1993 Melissa Schmaedick
1992 Amron S. Osman
1991 J. Steven King
1990 Diane Grazer
1989 Rebecca Dinsmore,
David Sutherland
1988 Donna M. Peterson
1987 Stanley Perry
1986 Laura Mayfield
Nancy L. Peterson
1985 Nancy C. Solomon
1984 Cheryl L. McGrew
1983 Bruce H. Rankin
1982 Twila Jacobsen
1981 Bernice Steelsmith
1980 Steve Davis
1979 Mary Ann Colby

Elizabeth C. Germ
Dale E. Tozier
1977 Lark Lawler
1976 Ramona Bundus
1975 Mark Gardiner
1974 Richard Robinson