Search Google Appliance


Athletics: Winter 2011
Author: Kathryn Kirkland
Posted: February 1, 2011

Women's volleyball team

The women’s volleyball team won the Big Sky tournament and the regular season title for the second year in a row under head coach Michael Seemann.

Winners once again

THIS SEASON, the women’s volleyball team won the Big Sky tournament for the second time in three years. With a 14-2 mark, the Viks took the regular season title, won the tournament on its home court, and went on to the NCAA tournament, where Hawaii ended its winning streak.

Credit should go to head coach Michael Seemann, who for the past four years has led the team to three regular season titles and another tournament championship in 2008. In fact, other head coaches named Seemann 2010 conference coach of the year. Only one other Portland State coach, Jeff Mozzochi, has ever won the Big Sky’s top coaching honor.

Seemann’s players have also taken home tributes: 15 Big Sky All-Conference honors and conference player of the year in each of the past two seasons. Off the court, 18 Vikings made the Big Sky Fall All-Academic team during the past three years.

Athletics Hall of Fame

Honoring our own

Former student athletes who competed at Portland State from 1966 through 2000 in six different sports were recently inducted into the University’s Athletics Hall of Fame. They are Chuck Seal, wrestling 1966-69 (pictured here, center, in 1969); Karen Strong, women’s basketball 1975-77; Shelley Rumberger, volleyball 1985-88; Cynthia Macom, softball 1988-91; Matt Mandigo, golf 1990-93; and Orshawante Bryant, football 1997-2000.

GET ALL OF THE LATEST sports news at Game stories, statistics, schedules, and much more are available and updated daily. You can also hear and/or see game broadcasts. Buy season and single game tickets online at or call 1-888-VIK-TIKS or 503-725-3307.