Curriculum and Instruction Master's Degree Advisory Committees

Jan Abramovitz

Dr. Jan Abramovitz, faculty member
jabram2@pdx.edu

How is dance related to learning? Ask Dr. Jan Abramovitz, who studies arts education and kinesthetic learning.

Meet Professor Jan Abramovitz

  Jing Chen
jing4@pdx.edu 
 

Dr. Bernd Ferner, faculty member, program coordinator
fernerb@pdx.edu

How can we see the whole child both as a learner and a person in a culturally and linguistically diverse classroom?

Meet Professor Bernd Ferner

Dr. Rana Houshmand, assistant professor of practice
rh@pdx.edu 

How important are literacy and the Socratic method? Ask Rana Houshmand, who studies writing literacy, teacher preparatory mentorship and social justice.

 

Dr. Barbara Ruben, faculty member
rubenb@pdx.edu

What do teachers need to know to empower and engage all students to be lifelong lovers of learning?

Meet Professor Barb Ruben

Elizabeth Snyder
snydere@pdx.edu, 503-725-9786 

Dr. Amanda Sugimoto, assistant professor
asugimo2@pdx.edu 

How do you prepare elementary teachers to work with linguistically diverse students in socially just ways? Ask Amanda Sugimoto, who studies how to improve the educational experiences and access of linguistically diverse students in schools, particularly in mathematics.

Dr. Yer Thao, faculty member
thaoy@pdx.edu

What can we learn from a story? Ask Dr. Thao, a scholar interested in oral tradition.

Meet Professor Yer Thao

Howard Yank

Howard Yank, Faculty member, secondary cohort leader
hyank@pdx.edu

How can teachers and schools best provide equity, access and rigor for all students? Ask Howard Yank, who leads and facilitates various workshops in collaboration, engagement, and professional development.

Meet Professor Howard Yank