Dr. Jun Jiao

Engineering Building

Dr. Jun Jiao holds an M.S. in Physics and a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Arizona and is currently a professor of physics and electrical and computer engineering. She is also the director of the Center for Electron Microscopy and Nanofabrication at Portland State University. Dr. Jiao's principal research interests concern nanoscale materials and the application of analytical techniques of electron microscopy.

Dr. Zhiqiang (Tony) Chen

Lab Manager/Research Associate Professor
Science Building 1, #33
zhiqiang 'at'
Tony joined CEMN as the facility manager in September 2009, after working as a research scientist at Monsanto Company for two years. Dr. Chen received his Ph.D. in materials science from the University of Birmingham. He spent five years at the University of California, Santa Barbara and Brookhaven National Laboratory doing postdoctoral research. Following this, he worked as the chief scientist at the University of Louisville, in charge of TEM, SEM, XPS and XRD facilities and analytical services. Tony’s research interests are focused on microstructural characterization using electron microscopy in materials science, nanoscience and technology.

Greg Baty

Research Technician
Science Building 1, #11
gbaty "at'
Greg Baty is a Research Technician at the Center for Electron Microscopy and Nanofabrication. He conducts new user training and provides contract analytical services on the following instruments: FEI Sirion XL30 SEM, Zeiss Sigma VP SEM, FEI Phenom SEM, KJ Lesker Axis PVD, EDS, WDX and EBSD. He spent over 10 years as an industrial process engineer in the high tech industry. Greg's expertise includes lithography, chemical etching and industrial automation.





  • Mathew Hughes (Lam Research)
  • Gabriel Eng (Intel)
  • Andrew Barnum (FEI Company (Thermo Scientific))
  • Jianfeng Wu (University of California, San Diego)
  • Aaron Besser (Intel)
  • Lindsey Maier (FEI Company (Thermo Scientific)) 
  • Chunfei Li (Clarion University of Pennsylvania)