Faculty, staff and students honored with President’s Diversity Awards
Author: John Kirkland
Posted: May 24, 2017

The Portland State community came together Thursday to honor more than 25 faculty, staff and students who received the 2017 President’s Diversity Awards for their advocacy, engagement, support and other accomplishments. 

Samuel Henry, associate professor in the Graduate School of Education, gave the keynote address at the Native American Campus and Community Center, reflecting on how much progress has been made in his 25 years at PSU while acknowledging how many challenges remain. 

“I know we do this as a celebration once a year, but we need to celebrate diversity at PSU every day of the year,” Henry said. 

Carmen Suarez, vice president for Global Diversity and Inclusion, hosted the event and Lisa Grady-Willis, director of Diversity Education and Learning, and Steve Percy, dean of the College of Urban and Public Affairs, conferred the awards. 

This year’s award recipients included: 

  • Faculty: Judy Bluehorse Skelton, Indigenous Nations Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Marilyn Mackiewicz, Department of Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  
  • Staff: Tara Cooper, Graduate School of Education; Virginia Luka, Student Activities and Leadership Programs. 
  • Students: Jasmin Hunter, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Aslihan Alkurt, Graduate School of Education. 
  • Annie Spencer, David & Linda Smeltzer and Michele & Heiner Eichermueller scholarships: Kathryn Bouchat, Dustina Hasse-Lanier, Maura Donnelly.
  • Distinguished Team Award: The Students of Color Caucus, School of Social Work.
  • Commission on Sexual and Gender Equity award: Mariam Abelson, Julian Bugarin Quezada, Chris Bush
  • Commission on the Status of Women Essay Contest winners:  Sofia Chavez, Ebony Oldham
  • Vice President’s Global Diversity Awards: Christian Aniciete, University Communications; Samuel Henry, Graduate School of Education.  

 Photos from the annual event can be found here.