Portland State University is governed by a 15 member volunteer Board of Trustees. The President of the University is an ex officio, non-voting member of the Board. In addition, the Board must include one faculty member, one staff member, and one student from the University. The faculty, staff and student members of the Board are appointed for two-year terms; all other trustees are appointed for four-year terms. Trustees are limited to two full consecutive terms. All trustees, except for the President, are appointed by the Governor of Oregon, subject to confirmation by the Oregon Senate. A list of the current trustees’ terms of office is here.

Any person interested in appointment to the Board should visit the Governor’s Boards and Commissions website. Interested persons are required to submit an Interest Form to the Governor’s Office, which can be found on the website. The website also includes information about all Boards and Commissions appointed by the Governor, information about how to apply, a handbook for board members, and other useful information.

Current Board of Trustee Members