Search Google Appliance


Black Studies Department Faculty & Staff

The Black Studies Department's distinguished faculty consists of recognized scholars in various fields of specialization covering African, Caribbean and African American issues.

Black Studies Faculty Media Interviews

See Dr. Shirley A. Jackson in the Portland Observer's "Alarmed by Trump: Professor Sees Parallels to the Era of Martin Luther King Jr.," January 10, 2017.

See Dr. Winston Grady-Willis on KPTV-Channel 12 News in a segment on campus protests - November 16, 2016.

See Dr. Shirley A. Jackson on WATU-Channel 2 News in a segment on race relations - July 8, 2016.

View Atlantic article that cites Dr. Darrell Millner and former adjunct Professor Walidah Imarisha. 


Tenure-track Faculty

Shirley A. Jackson, Chair, Professor
PKM 147
503-725-9393
shja2@pdx.edu  

Derrais Carter, Assistant Professor
PKM 247
503-725-9055 
derrais@pdx.edu

Winston Grady Willis, Professor
PKM 141
503-725-9333 
wgr2@pdx.edu 

Ethan Johnson, Associate Professor
PKM 243
503-725-5713 
ejohns@pdx.edu

Fixed-Term Faculty

Pedro Ferbel-Azcarate, Assistant Professor
PKM 245
503-725-3052 
pedro@pdx.edu
 

Joseph Smith-Buani, Senior Instructor II and Undergraduate Advisor

PKM 245
503-725-3052
smithbj@pdx.edu 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Turiya Autry, Instructor 

ONLINE

503-725-3472

turiya@pdx.edu
 

Darrell Millner, Professor Emeritus
PKM 249
503-725-4008
millnerd@pdx.edu


Carmen Thompson, Instructor

PKM 250

503-725-3472

mcarmen@pdx.edu

 

Josphat Waruhiu, Instructor (also NTTF faculty in World Languages and Literatures) 
PKM 250 

503-725-5227

waruhiuj@pdx.edu 

 

Emeriti Faculty

E. Kofi Agorsah, Professor Emeritus (Not on campus)
503-725-5080 
agorsahe@pdx.edu 

 

Darrell Millner, Professor Emeritus
PKM 249
503-725-4008
millnerd@pdx.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Lisa Bates, Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning

Veronica Dujon, Professor, Department of Sociology

Stephen Frenkel, Assistant Professor, International Studies: African and Latin American Studies

Maude Hines, Associate Professor, English Department

Roberta HunteAssistant Professor, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Yves Labissiere, Associate Professor, Community Health, Urban and Community Affairs

Anoop Mirpuri, Assistant Professor, English Department

Jose Padin, Associate Professor, Sociology Department

Jennifer Tappan, Associate Professor, History Department

Staff

Elizabeth (Liz) Fritzinger, Office Manager
PKM 148
503-725-2295 
elizf2@pdx.edu

Black Studies Department 503-725-3472