Digital Accessibility Workgroup

Collection of four symbols representative of physical and cognitive accessibility: a person using a wheelchair, a human brain, human hands using sign language, and a person walking with a cane.


Portland State University (PSU) is committed to ensuring that all information and communication technology (ICT) created, purchased, or acquired by the university is accessible in accordance with applicable laws and industry standards for web accessibility (specifically, WCAG 2.0 Level A and AA Success Criteria). This commitment is outlined more thoroughly in PSU’s Electronic and Information Technology (EIT) Accessibility Policy.

The charge of the Digital Accessibility Workgroup is to promote awareness related to ICT accessibility barriers. This includes the promotion of equity through universal design and accessibility best practices in ICT development, procurement, and implementation at PSU.

The Digital Accessibility Workgroup is a more permanent continuation of the following transitory workgroups and subcommittees:

  • Accessibility and Technology (A&T) Coordination Committee
    November 2018 to March 2020
  • Electronic and Information Technology (EIT) Accessibility Subcommittee
    February 2016 to October 2016
  • Workgroup for Electronic Accessibility and Technology (WEAT)
    November 2014 to April 2015


Past Projects

  • Collaboration with the IT Accessibility Coordinator in the development of a resource-rich workflow for accessible ICT procurement
  • Drafting and implementation of an Electronic and Information Technology (EIT) Accessibility Policy
  • Creation of a dedicated role at PSU related to the application of ICT accessibility through training and resource development
  • Presentation of several web accessibility trainings with Terrill Thompson for senior academic leadership and campus ICT experts

Future Projects

  • Revise PSU’s current Electronic and Information Technology (EIT) Accessibility policy and develop additional best-practices that clarify accessibility expectations as global standards evolve (e.g. WCAG 2.1, 2.2, 3.0)
  • Develop systems and best-practices for ICT accessibility auditing and validation that leverage current tools, resources, and funding
  • Promote the creation and adoption of more accessible, open educational resources (OER)


  • Michele Bromley, Co-Chair
    IT Accessibility and Content Lead, Office of Information Technology
  • Jerrod Thomas, Co-Chair
    Senior Director for Academic Technology Services, Office of Information Technology
  • Karen Bjork
    Head of Digital Initiatives, Library 
  • Gregory Blakemore
    Adjunct Instructor, Department of Philosophy 
  • Ed Hill
    Emerging Technologies Librarian and Head of Library Technology, Library
  • Lindsay Murphy
    Instructional Designer, Office of Academic Innovation
  • Ashley Nilson
    Site Development Team Lead, Office of Information Technology
  • Mary Popish
    Adaptive Technology Specialist and Alternate Formats Coordinator, Disability Resource Center
  • Karen Thomson
    Director, Contracting and Procurement Services