Branford Price Millar Award For Faculty Excellence

Phillip J. Cooper, Ph.D.

PHILLIP J. COOPER is the Douglas & Candace Morgan Professor of Local Government in the Department of Public Administration in the Mark O. Hatfield School of Government. He is the author of numerous books and articles on public administration, public policy, administrative law, constitutional law, presidential powers, civil rights, law and public policy, the U.S. Supreme Court, and sustainable development. He is particularly well known at the national level and internationally as a leading expert on presidential powers such as the use and abuse of executive orders and presidential signing statements. He has also served as a consultant to the United Nations on sustainable development. He is active at the local government level in Oregon, leading the MPA program's local government administration specialization.

Professor Cooper is a Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration. He was the first recipient of the Charles Levine Award given by the American Society for Public Administration and the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration for excellence in public affairs scholarship, teaching, and service.

He received his Ph.D. from the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs of Syracuse University and has taught at several universities with faculty appointments in Public Administration, Political Science, Public Policy, and Law.

"Dr. Cooper's scholarship and research acquires additional strength in its close connection to the courses he teaches" says Masami Nishishiba, Ph.D., PSU Chair and Professor of Public Administration. "It is impressive how Dr. Cooper incorporates his scholarly work into his courses and brings the academic rigor of his scholarship into the classroom. His published work informs his courses, and he incorporates student feedback from the courses into his publications. The mutual reinforcement of scholarship and teaching strengthens his publications as well as the course contents."

The Millar Award is given annually to a faculty member in a tenure-track or tenured appointment who has demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, instruction, university service, and public service, and whose performance in the area of scholarship and research is judged to be exceptional.