NAAB Professional Accreditation

The Master of Architecture program is intended for students wishing to become licensed architects and has full professional accreditation with the National Architectural Accrediting Board.

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a 6-year, 3-year, or 2-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

Portland State University, School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program in architecture: M.Arch (pre-professional degree + 74 graduate credits). Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2015

The latest Architecture Program Report (APR) and Visiting Team Report (VTR), viewable here, are available for view in the School of Architecture Office, alongside copies of the latest NAAB Conditions for Accreditation, and Procedures for Accreditation

The latest decision letter from NAAB may be viewed here

The NAAB Conditions for Accreditation including the Student Performance Criteria can also be found at Specifically, you can find and download the 2009 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation, as well as the 2011 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation, at the NAAB Documents page

1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006-5292
202.783.2007 Phone
202.783.2822 Fax