Faculty Directory

Full Time Faculty

Ron Babcock
503.725.3181 | babcocr@pdx.edu | LH 326B
Graduate Coordinator, Assistant Chair, Music Education

David Bamonte
503.725.3124 | bamonted@pdx.edu | LH 27
Brass Area Coordinator, Trumpet

Joel Bluestone 
503.725.3182 | bluestj@pdx.edu | LH 31
Percussion Coordinator, Rock History

Sydney Carlson
503.725.3064 | sydneyc@pdx.edu | LH 30
Flute

Susan Chan
503.725.3119 | chanss@pdx.edu | LH 248
Piano Area Coordinator, Piano Pedagogy

Hamilton Cheifetz
503.725.3185 | cheifetzh@pdx.edu | LH 326G
String Coordinator, Cello, Florestan Trio

George Colligan
646.620.8286 | ghc@pdx.edu | LH 32
Jazz Area Coordinator

Debbie Glaze
503.725.3155 | glazed@pdx.edu | LH 239B
Music Education Coordinator

Darrell Grant
503.725.5828 | grantd@pdx.edu | LH 237B
Jazz Studies, Jazz Piano

Charles Gray
503.725.3029 | grayc@pdx.edu | LH 239C
Jazz Studies, Jazz Bass

Brad Hansen
503.725.3197 | hansenb@pdx.edu | LH 237C
Theory Coordinator, Composition

Barbara Heilmair
503.725.3199 | heilmair@pdx.edu | LH 243
Woodwind Coordinator, Clarinet, Music History

Edward Higgins
503.725.3051 | ehiggins@pdx.edu | LH 213C
Wind Ensembles Coordinator

Bryan Johanson
503.725.3003 | johansonb@pdx.edu | LH 231D
School Director, Classical Guitar, Theory

Wynn Kiyama
503.725.3195 | wyn@pdx.edu | LH 243D
Music History Coordinator, Musicology, Ethnomusicology

Christine Meadows
503.725.5463 | meadowsc@pdx.edu | LH 345B
Vocal Area Coordinator, Assistant Chair, Opera Production

Bonnie Miksch
503.725.3063 | bonnie@pdx.edu | LH 245A
Composition Coordinator, Theory

Jon Newton
503.725.3110 | jnewton@pdx.edu | LH 326E
Music Technology, Music Theory

Melissa Robinson
503.725.3130 | melissa.a.robinson@pdx.edu | LH 29
Applied Horn

Ken Selden
503.725.8112 | kselden@pdx.edu | LH 245B
Orchestral Studies, Conducting, Orchestral Literature

Carol Sindell
503.725.3153 | sindellc@pdx.edu | LH 213B
Violin, Florestan Trio

Ethan Sperry
503.381.7822 | esperry@pdx.edu | LH 239A
Director of Choral Activities

Karen Strand
503.725.3179 | strandk@pdx.edu | LH 200B
Oboe, Music Literature, Ensemble Viento

 

 

Part Time Faculty

Jeff Baker
503.725.3011 | thejeffbaker@icloud.com | LH 243C

Jazz Vocals

 Joël Belgique
503.720.1224 | altistepdx@yahoo.com | LH 243C
Viola

Ja'Ttik Clark
503.772.2173 | shin_battousai@hotmail.com | LH 243C
Tuba

Steve Conrow
503.725.3011 | scconrow@hotmail.com | LH 243C
Theory

Florian Conzetti
503.725.3011 | conzetti@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Theory

Stephanie Cooke
503.725.3011 | scooke@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Basic Piano

Damian Erskine
503.725.3011 | damian.erskine@gmail.com | LH 243C
Jazz Bass

Renee Favand-See
503.725.3011 | renee.favandsee@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Composition

David Franzen
503.725.3011 | franzenmusic@msn.com | LH 243C
Classical Guitar

Sean Fredenburg
sean.fredenburg@gmail.com | LH 243C
Classical Saxophone

Denise Fujikawa
503.236.5603 | fujikawa@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Harp

Dan Gildea
503.725.3011 | dan.gildea@gmail.com | LH 243C
Jazz Guitar

Jon Greeney
443.822.3786 | jongreeney@gmail.com | LH 243C
Timpani Instructor

Carl Halvorson
503.725.3011 | carl@whalecove.com | LH 243C
Voice

Matthew Hayward
503.725.3011 | mchayward@gmail.com| LH 243C
Voice

Hannah Hillebrand
akhannahmae@gmail.com | LH 243C
Music Theory

Susan Hinshaw
503.725.3011 | suesing1@msn.com | LH 243C
Voice

David Jimerson
503.725.3011 | jimersond@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Voice

Jeffrey Johnson
503.725.3011 | JjmtJohnson@aol.com | LH 243C
Bass

Alan Jones
503.725.3011 | alanjones@miramont.com | LH 243C
Jazz Combo

Evan Kuhlmann
347.886.0800 | evanmk@comcast.net | LH 243C
Bassoon

Adam LaMotte
503.725.3011| calcanius@gmail.com | LH 243C
Violin

Julia Hwakyu Lee
503.245.9505 | pianistlee@gmail.com | LH 243C
Piano

Lisa Marsh
503.725.3011 | lmarsh@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Coordinate Movement Director, Piano

Jesse McCann
503.725.3011 | jmccann@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Classical Guitar

Ben Medler
503.452.8685 | ben@medlerstudios.com | LH 243C
Jazz Combo

Glen Moore
503.725.3011 | grmoore@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Jazz Bass

Angela Niederloh
503.725.3011 | aniederloh@gmail.com | LH 243C
Voice

Beth Noelle
503.725.3011 | bethnoelle@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Jazz Voice

Ken Ollis
503.725.3011 | kollis@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Jazz Drums

Hannah Penn
hannahpennsings@yahoo.com | LH 243C
Voice Instructor

Kerry Politzer

503.725.3011 | politzer@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Jazz Piano

Jeff Putterman
503.650.0047 | jeffputterman52@gmail.com | LH 243C
Jazz Guitar

Charley Reneau
503.725.3132 | creneau@pdx.edu | LH 343C
Applied Trombone

Suzanne Savaria
503.725.3011 | savaria@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Piano

Jelena Schiff
503.725.3011 | jes@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Sight Singing/Ear Training

Douglas Schneider
503.725.3011 | dougs@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Vocal and Diction

Dan Schulte
503.725.3011 | jazzteroid@earthlink.net | LH 243C
String Bass, Jazz Bass

Derek Sims
503.725.3011 | trumpetman70@yahoo.com | LH 243C
Jazz Trumpet

Matthew Solomon
503.725.3011 | solomonguitar@gmail.com | LH 243C
Guitar

Pam South
503.725.3011 | psidaho@comcast.net | LH 243C
Voice

Connie Titterington
503.725.3011 | conniet@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Piano

David Valdez
503.725.3011 | d.valdez@comcast.net | LH 243C
Jazz Saxophone

Ezra Weiss
503.725.3011 | ezweiss@hotmail.com | LH 243C
Jazz Piano

Andrew Willette
503.725.3011 | willette@pdx.edu | LH 243C
Basic Materials

 

 

 

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Lisa Castleman
lcastl2@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Orchestra

Andrew Chavez-Klein
chavez5@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Woodwinds/History

Ben España
bespana@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Theory

Saelin Ho
saelin@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Piano/Opera

Kelly Mason
kmaso2@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Band

 

 

Lisa Riffel
lriffel@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Music Education

Sterling Roberts
ster3@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Choral

Jason Sabino
esabino@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Choral

Mario Sandoval
drumrsan@gmail.com| LH 326A
Jazz

Shannon Young
smayo@pdx.edu | LH 326A
Voice/Opera

Emeriti Faculty

Bruce Browne 1978, D.M.A. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Voice
David Jimerson 1983, M.M. Associate Prof. Emeritus of Music: Voice
Mary H. Kogen 1979, M.M. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Piano
Stephen Martin 1980, Ph.D. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Music History, Ethnomusicology
Wilma F. Sheridan 1959, Ph.D. Dean Emeritus, College of the Arts, Prof. of Music
Marilyn Shotola 1981, D.M.A. Prof. Emerita of Music: Flute
Gordon A. Solie 1960, M.M. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Bassoon
William Stalnaker 1968, Ph.D. Prof. Emeritus of Music
Thomas Stanford 1981, D.M.A. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Clarinet
John Stehn 1950 Ph.D. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Band
Tomas Svoboda 1970, M.M. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Piano
S. John Trudeau 1955, B.M. Dean Emeritus, College of the Arts, Prof. of Music
William J. Tuttle 1977, D.M.A. Prof. Emeritus of Music
Gerald Webster 1994, M.M. Prof. Emeritus of Music: Trumpet

The University Faculty & Staff directory is not to be used for commercial or political solicitation of University employees by mail, email or telephone.