Search Google Appliance


Urban Sustainability Faculty

Rudy Barton

Professor, Architecture
Areas of interest: Public space design; urban transportation design.
Email: bartonl@pdx.edu

Kelly Clifton 

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Areas of interest: Travel behavior; transportation policy; land use and transportation; physical activity and health; transportation, environment, and energy.
Email: kclifton@pdx.edu 

Philip Cooper

Professor, Public Administration
Areas of interest: Public administration; environmental policy; sustainable development; public contract. management
Emailpcooper@pdx.edu

Jennifer Dill 

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning 
Director, Oregon Transportation Research and Education Consortium (OTREC) 
Areas of interest: Bicycle, pedestrian, and transit infrastructure; transportation policy and behavior; interactions of transportation planning, travel behavior, health, the environment, and land use.
Emailjdill@pdx.edu

Peter Dusicka

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Director, PSU infraStructure Testing & Research (iSTAR) Lab
Areas of interest: Natural disaster engineering and resiliency; building retrofitting.
Emaildusicka@pdx.edu

Sean Gordon 

Research Assistant Professor, Institute for Sustainable Solutions
Areas of interest: Design and use of information systems for supporting natural resource decisions; natural resource data in landscape and urban decision making; urban ecology.
Email: sean.gordon@pdx.edu

Charles Heying

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Green economics; artisan economies; urban social networks; sustainable development; localization; sociology and politics of urban life.
Email: heyingc@pdx.edu

Bill Jones

Professor, Business Administration
Coordinator, Business Administration Senior Capstone Program
Areas of interest: Climate change mitigation and adaptation; clean energy issues; sustainable business development; strategic/policy planning.
Email: wmj@pdx.edu

Tom Harvey

Professor, Geography
Areas of interest: Urban geography; cultural landscape studies; North America.
Email: harveyt@pdx.edu

Marcus Ingle 

Professor, Public Administration
Director for International Public Service, Executive Leadership Institute
Areas of interest: Global leadership and management including participatory and sustainability techniques for urban and rural water, transport and environmental programs.
Email: mingle@pdx.edu

Loren Lutzenhiser

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Environmental policy and practice; zero net energy design; energy behavior and climate; technological change; urban environmental sustainability.
Emailllutz@pdx.edu

Sheila Martin 

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Director, Institute of Portland Metropolitan Studies
Director, Population Research Center
Areas of interest: Measurement in sustainable economic development; role of human capital and innovation in regional economic development; impact of growth on quality of life and sustainability; importance of industry cluster connections in cluster performance; impact of technology on productivity and regional economies; methods for improving the use of data in public policy.
Emailsheilam@pdx.edu

Leslie McBride 

Associate Professor, Community Health
Areas of interest: Housing and community development; black urban history; economic inequality; poverty in the urban community.
Email: mcbridel@pdx.edu

Nathan McClintock 

Assistant Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Origins of contemporary urban agriculture movements; obstacles to food access; the possibilities of scaling up food production in the city.
Emailn.mcclintock@pdx.edu 

Rebecca McLain

Research Assistant Professor, Institute for Sustainable Solutions
Areas of interest: The effects of forest management practices on human and natural communities; mapping cultural values associated with ecosystems; policy barriers to integrating non-timber forest products into urban ecosystems management.
Email: mclainrj@pdx.edu

Barry Messer

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Urban environmental education; community development.
Email: messerb@pdx.edu

Thad Miller

Assistant Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Urban civic ecology; sustainability science; science and technology studies; environmental science and policy; social-ecological resilience; transdisciplinary research and education; defining sustainability for Portland.
Email: thaddeus.miller@pdx.edu

Sergio Palleroni 

Associate Professor, Architecture
Areas of interest: Green building design; bioswale systems; design-build of green homes, schools, and public buildings for underserved populations.
Email: sergiop@pdx.edu

David Sailor

Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Director, Green Building Research Laboratory
Areas of interest: Urban climate dynamics; energy efficiency of buildings; green buildings.
Emailsailor@cecs.pdx.edu

Jeffery Schnabel

Assistant Professor, Architecture
Areas of interest: Spatial and narrative light strategies for the built environment at night; the potential of projected media to transform the built environment; green wall strategies.
Email: jjsch@pdx.edu

Ethan Seltzer

Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Regions, planning, and place; Cascadia region; regional planning; regional and community. development
Emailseltzer@pdx.edu

Vivek Shandas

Associate Professor, Urban Studies and Planning
Areas of interest: Ecosystem services in urban regions; coupling of human and natural systems; modeling land use and water consumption; engaging communities in the stewardship of natural resources; assessing the implications of urban planning policies on human health.
Emailvshandas@pdx.edu

Dilafruz Williams

Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy
Areas of interest: Garden-based learning; service-learning/civic engagement; urban education policy.
Email: williamsdi@pdx.ed

Martha Works

Professor, Geography
Areas of interest: Cultural geography of Latin America; cultural ecology; culture history; cultural landscapes.
Emailmworks@pdx.edu

B.D. Wortham-Galvin 

Professor, Architecture
Areas of interest: Urban and architectural design and theory; adaptive reuse; community-based design; built environment.
Email: bwortham@umd.edu

Alan Yeakley

Associate Professor, Environmental Science
Areas of Interest: Ecological system analysis; ecosystem management; forest ecology; hydrological modeling; riparian Ecology; urban ecology; watershed biogeochemistry; watershed hydrolog.
Email: yeakley@pdx.edu

 

More information about faculty involved in transportation research at PSU can be found on the Oregon Transportation Research and Education Consortium website