Search Google Appliance



The Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) recently passed a resolution eliminating the requirement for the Essential Skills Tests (also called the Basic Skills Tests) in all educator licenses effective July 1, 2015.

Prior to admission

Content area test (required for SDEP)

Secondary Dual Educator Program applicants must pass a content area test associated with the appropriate endorsement area. (e.g. Art, Biology, Chemistry, French, German, Integrated Science, Language Arts, Music, Physics, Spanish)

Post-admission (required by SPED, IEEP, EI/SE, SDEP, VIL)

  • Protecting Student and Civil Rights in the Educational Environment test (Required; to be taken before you begin your first practicum and work sample) Oregon’s licensure agency, Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC), requires all educators to pass this civil rights knowledge test. Content related to this test will be taught early in the program.
  • Special Education Content Knowledge test (Required; to be taken in the last term of the program, approximately in March/April) The National Evaluation Series (NES) test for Special Education may be taken during or close to the completion of the program, and must be taken prior to recommendation for licensure. Content will be taught during the program.

Multiple subjects test (required for IEEP)