Search Google Appliance


Faculty & Staff - SPED

 

The faculty bring students a wide range of expertise in special education including instructional methods, autism, positive behavior supports, inclusion, assessment, early intervention/early childhood, transition to adulthood, and visual impairments, to name a few. Faculty are highly involved in improving special education services and instruction in Oregon and the nation through developing research-based curricula and teaching methods, setting up model classrooms and programs, and building collaborative relationships within schools and between schools and the community that improve education for students with and without disabilities. As part of the master's degree, faculty members mentor small groups of students in the use of applied research methods to explore important problems in schools.

 

Department Chair

 

Randy DePry, Ph.D.
Office: ED 219
rdepry@pdx.edu
503-725-4493

Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support (PBIS), including work in social skills instruction, functional behavioral assessment, and systemic change models in schools.

Faculty

 
  Susan Bert, M.S. 
Office: ED 206G 
berts@pdx.edu 
503-725-4685 
Transition, person-centered planning; self determination; partnerships with families; collaboration and consultation in secondary schools 
  Chris Borgmeier, Ph.D. 
Office: ED 204B 
cborgmei@pdx.edu 
503-725-5469
Positive Behavior Interventions and Support, School-wide Systems of Behavior Support (EBS), Behavior Management in the Classroom, Functional Behavioral Assessment and Behavior Support Planning, working with students with challenging behavior 
B. Lynn Coupland, MEd
Office: 206A
coupland@pdx.edu
503-725-8110 
Ms. Coupland is an instructor for Special Education. She also supervises for the English as a Second Language program. She has taught general and special education and was a principal, vice principal and director of student support services in Canada. She has previously worked in Japan as a director of English studies.
 

Julie Esparza-Brown, Ed.D.
Office: ED 204D
jebrown@pdx.edu
503-725-4696

Early childhood special education and the BiSped program for bilingual/bicultural special education teachers. 
  Ruth Falco, Ph.D. 
Office: ED 204L 
falcor@pdx.edu 
503-725-4486
Severe disabilities, autism, early intervention/early childhood special education; Director of the Research Center on Inclusive and Effective Educational Practices (RCIEP). 

Ann Fullerton, Ph.D. 
Office: ED 219 
fullertona@pdx.edu 
503-725-4254 
Director of research; middle/secondary instructional methods, transition, outdoor education and recreation.
  Tiffany Jones, M.S.
Office: ED 206D
Jonest@pdx.edu
503-725-4695 
Director of Inclusive Elementary Educator Program. Teacher education and preparation of teachers pursuing a license in special education while working on an emergency or restricted licenses. Special education of at-risk students.
  Sheldon Loman, Ph.D. 
Office: ED 330 
sheldon.loman@pdx.edu 
503-725-5939
Inclusive education, instructional practices for individuals with significant disabilities, Functional Behavioral Assessment (FBA), Assistive Technology (AT) and Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC), and educational systems change 
  Leslie Munson, Ph.D. 
Office: ED 204F 
munsonl@pdx.edu 
503-725-4687
Parent-infant interaction, families of children with special needs, grief related to death of a child, parents with cognitive disabilities. 
  Christopher Pinkney, Ph.D.
Office: ED 204C
pinkney@pdx.edu
503-725-2303 
The Department of Special Education welcomes Dr. Pinkney who comes to GSE from sunny California. He has an MA in special education from California State Stanislaus, but got his duck feet at the University of Oregon completing his doctorate. He will be teaching secondary special education courses.
  Amanda Sanford, Ph.D.
Office: ED 204 
asanford@pdx.edu
503-725-4638
Research interests include school-wide literacy, prevention-oriented literacy assessment and instruction, Response to Intervention, progress monitoring, and work with English-language learners. 
Samuel Sennott, Ph.D.
Office: ED 206C
sennott@pdx.edu
503-725-8166 
Special education assistant professor Samuel Sennott is a technology early adopter. He has written and published an app for smart phones, Proloquo2Go, that enables people without speaking ability to communicate. He has a doctorate from The Pennsylvania State University and will be working on language, literacy, and universal design. Among his assignments, he will be teaching assistive technology for the GSE.
  Helen Young, Ed.D. 
Office ED 206 
youngh@pdx.edu 
503-725-5207
Director, Autism Research Center. Research, autism, working with families. 

 Staff

   
  Teresa Loveland 
ED 206F 
lovelandt@pdx.edu 
503-725-4649
Office manager for the Departments of Special Education and Counseling Education. 
  Kris Smith 
ED 204 
gsesped@pdx.edu
503-725-4632 
Admissions and graduation specialist for the Departments of Special Education and Counselor Education.