Search Google Appliance


Graduate Students

Graduate Students

 

Name: Lindsey Alley

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: Eating Behaviors and Spousal Support, Treatment Adherence for Prescribed Diets and Social Support, Health Promotion

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: AlleyL@pdx.edu

Name: Aurelia Alston

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: Social identity threat, prejudice, and masculinity threat and its interaction with race.

Adviser: Kim Kahn

Email Address: aalston@pdx.edu


Name: Sarah Arpin

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: Social relationships, social integration and health behavior; positive relationship processes and well-being

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: sarpin@pdx.edu

Name: Gil Brady

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Occupational health, return to work; military work-family reintegration, supervisor support, behavioral genetics, resiliency, hardiness, multicultural diversity in the workplace

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: gpb@pdx.edu


Name: Heather Brule

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Use of Self Determination Theory to improve teaching, Empowerment
Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email: brule@pdx.edu

Name: Amy L. Cannell-Cordier

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Early Kindergarten Transition programs, Early Childhood Education environments and interventions

Adviser: Andrew Mashburn

Email Address: acordier@pdx.edu

Name: David Caughlin

Area: I/O Psychology

Adviser: Leslie Hammer

Email Address: caughlin@pdx.edu

Name: Tori Crain

Area: I/O and Occupational Health Psychology

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: torilcrain@gmail.com

Name: Adolfo Cuevas

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Social Psychological Aspects of Minority Health and Health Disparities; Patient Perspectives on Cultural Competency; Cultural Health Psychology; Quantitative and Qualitative Research Methods

Adviser: Kerth O'Brien

Email Address: acuevas@pdx.edu


Name: Cailin Currie

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Academic Motivation, Engagement, and Coping, and the Role of Peer Groups/Social Networks

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: ccailin@pdx.edu

Name: James Delaney

Area: Applied Developmental

Research Interests:

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: delaneyj@pdx.edu@pdx.edu


Name: Caitlin Demsky

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Occupational Health Psychology, Recovery from Work, Work-Life Balance, Leadership

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: cademsky@pdx.edu


Name: Allison Ellis

Area: I/O and Occupational Health Psychology

Research interests: Employee health and well-being, especially as it relates to employee engagement, coping with workplace stressors, and positive performance-related behaviors (e.g., proactive work behavior).

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: ame2@pdx.edu 


Name: Alexa Garcia

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Liu Qin Yang

Email Address: alexa.garcia@pdx.edu


Name: Frankie Guros

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Proactivity, Leadership, Recovery

Adviser: Charlotte Fritz

Email Address: fguros@pdx.edu

Name: Jessica Harrison

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Mindfulness; Teacher Stress and Coping

Adviser: Robert Roeser

Email Address: jharr2@pdx.edu


Name: Sarah Haverly

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: shaverly@pdx.edu


Name: Price Johnson

Area: Social

Research Interests: Social Network Analysis, Social Roles, Peer Influence, Engagement, Motivation, Physiological Psychology

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: price.mccloud@gmail.com

 

Name: Sylvia Kidder

Area: Applied Social Psychology

Research Interests: Gender role beliefs, romantic relationships, sexuality

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email Address: sylvia.ferguson@pdx.edu


Name: Colleen Kidney

Area: Community

Research Interests: Community based participatory research promoting well-being of individuals with disabilities and autistic individuals by access to research, access to health care, and involvement in online communities

Adviser: Katherine McDonald

Email Address: ckidney@pdx.edu

Name: Katherine Lee

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: Social identity threat and motivation in educational context for women and underrepresented minorities in STEM fields.

Adviser: Joel Steele and Kim Kahn

Email Address: jkl2@pdx.edu


Name: Layla Mansfield

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Applicant Reactions to Selection, Justice/Fairness, Leadership, Occupational Health & Safety, Socialization/Orienting New Employees

Adviser: Talya Bauer and Donald Truxillo

Email Address: laylam@pdx.edu


Name: Cameron T. McCabe

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: The Stress and Coping Process, Resiliency, Substance Use and Behavioral Health, Research Methodology

Adviser: Cynthia Mohr

Email Address: cmccabe@pdx.edu

Name: Jean McMahon

Area: Applied Social Psych

Research Interests: Stereotype Threat, Ambivalent Sexism, the intersection of race and gender, using research to inform public policy or design interventions.

Adviser: Kimberly Kahn

Email Address: mcmah@pdx.edu


Name: Shawn Mehess

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Social networks research methods, creativity, neuroscience, physiological psychology, memory

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: mehess@pdx.edu

 

Name: Adam Murry

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Economic Development of Native American Communities, Native American Community Sustainability

Adviser: Dr. Keith James

Email Address: adam5@pdx.edu

Name: MacKenna Perry

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: macperry@pdx.edu


Name: Cristi Pinela

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: The role and mechanisms of mindfulness in self-regulation, optimal development, and eudaimonic growth; emotional intelligence, adaptive coping strategies, resilience; promotion of student engagement via programs informed by mindfulness and motivation research, that honor autonomy, agency, and diversity; self-determination theory, bio-ecological systems theory, integral theory.

Adviser: Robert Roeser

Email Address: pinela@pdx.edu


Name: Jennifer Pitzer

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: Development of motivation, particularly the effect of teachers' provision of autonomy support on students' re-engagement
and everyday resilience

Adviser: Ellen Skinner

Email Address: jpitzer@pdx.edu

               

Name: Amy Pytlovany

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Donald Truxillo

Email Address: pyt@pdx.edu


Name: Jenn Rineer

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Job Design and Aging, Occupational Health Psychology, Recruiting and Selection

Adviser: Donald Truxillo

Email Address: rineer@pdx.edu

Name: Kate Sackett

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests: Intimate partner violence prevention and intervention, gender-based violence,  socirestorative justice

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email: ksackett@pdx.edu

Name: Amy Shearer

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Greg Townley

Email Address: shearer2@pdx.edu


Name: Brittnie Shepherd

Area: I/O and Occupational Health Psychology

Research Interests: Employee well-being, recovery from work, work life balance and training

Advisor: Charlotte Fritz

Email: bshe2@pdx.edu

Name: Joe Sherwood

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Organizational health, work-life balance, multicultural, productivity

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: joseph.sherwood @pdx.edu

Name: Rachel Smith

Area: Applied Social & Community Psychology

Research Interests:

Adviser: Eric Mankowski

Email Address: rms7@pdx.edu


Name: Kelly Stewart

Area: Applied Social and Community Psychology

Research Interest: Violence Prevention, Sexual Abuse Prevention, Adolescent Offenders, and Community Interventions.

Adviser: Keith Kaufman

Email Address: ks24@pdx.edu


Name: Sarah Van Dyck

Area: I/O Psychology

Research Interests: Occupational Health Psychology, Work-Family Conflict, Peer Support, Workplace Aggression

Adviser: Dr. Leslie Hammer

Email Address: vandyck@pdx.edu


Name: Justin Vollet

Area: Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: The role peer groups play in influencing the development of children's academic engagement and how peer influence of a child's developing school engagement may vary depending upon a child's position within his or her social network, and their sense of relatedness to their peers. 

Adviser: Thomas Kidnermann

Email Address: jwv@pdx.edu

Name: Rita Yelverton

Area: Developmental

Research Interests: The Role of Teacher and Peer Relatedness in the Development of Academic Motivation/Satisfaction

Adviser: Thomas Kindermann

Email Address: rita.yelverton@pdx.edu