The Office of Information Technologies is not able to restore emails in Gmail once they have been deleted. If you have deleted a message permanently, by clicking Delete Forever in your Spam or Trash, you won’t be able to recover the messages. If you've moved a message to Trash, by clicking Delete, and it has been fewer than 30 days, you haven't permanently deleted it.
Restoring Your Emails
You can follow these simple steps to put it back in your inbox:
- Sign into your PSU Google Mail
- Select Trash along the left side of any Gmail page.
- Locate the messages you'd like to move to your inbox, and check the box next to the sender's name.
- Select "Move to Inbox".
Archiving vs. Deleting
If you are trying to keep your inbox tidy, and used to storing your emails in the trash, Gmail has a nice function that will allow you to archive your emails so that they don't appear in your inbox, however, they will still appear in your All Mail. OIT recommends using Archiving as a means to keep your Inbox free of clutter. Only messages that you wish to permanently delete should be deleted.
To archive messages:
- In your inbox, select a message by checking the box next to the sender's name.
- Select Archive. (If you have a message open, you can also archive it by clicking the Archive button.)
To move an archived message back to your inbox:
- Select All Mail. (If you don't see All Mail along the left side of your Gmail page, select the More drop-down menu at the bottom of your labels list.
- Check the box next to the sender's name.
- Select the Move to Inbox button.
Contact the Helpdesk for additional assistance.