Search Google Appliance

David Dunnette Award

Professor David Dunnette was one of the founding members of the department. An endowment was established in his memory to support ESM graduate student travel to present their research at meetings. One award will be given each year. Please submit the online application available at by December 1 for travel between  Jan 1 - June 30 the following year. For travel at other times, please see the new Edward D. and Olive C. Bushby Scholarship.

At the end of the award or travel, you must write a thank-you note to the sponsor (see the ESM Department Manager or Awards Committee Chair to verify need and address), provide a summary describing how the award enabled your research and scholarship as well as career path. Please also in a year provide a summary of how your scholarship has progressed since the award (especially highlighting anything that grew from the award – e.g., started a collaboration with a contact at a meeting, published a paper based on the research you did while funded...).  Submit these to


Previous recipients of the Dunnette Award:

Amy Truitt (2013)
Sarah Freed (2011)
Arick Rouhe (2011)
Tim Davidson (2011)
Patrick Edwards (2010)
Tara Chestnut (2010)
Chris Parker (2009)
Sybil Kelley(2008)
Joshua Caplan (2007)
Nadia Gillett (2007)
Adam Kennedy (2006)
Wayne Rifer (2006)
Laurie Dizney (2006)
Fenix Grange (2001)
Michael Fitzgerald (1999)
Thomas Lowry (1999)


Environmental Science and Management
Portland State University
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
Contact Us:

Call: (503) 725-4982
Fax: (503) 725-9040