Search Google Appliance


People

Director
J. Alan Yeakley
yeakley@pdx.edu
503-725-8040
SRTC B1-04E
Office hours by appointment

Office Coordinator
Ember Stevens
environ@pdx.edu
503-725-2070
SRTC B1-04
Office Hours: Mon-Fri 1-5pm

Affiliated Faculty & PIs

There are over 85 faculty, teaching staff, and research staff affiliated with the School of the Environment. A crucial function of our School is to promote and support collaboration across this large group of people with environmental expertise. We accomplish this through our seminar series, an annual research symposium, and hosting scientific conferences.  

The following are associated with the School through appointments in the four participating departments (Geography, Geology, ESM, and Systems Science), the USGS-PSU Research Collaborative, and INR-P. If you think that someone needs to be added to this list, please contact Ember Stevens at environ@pdx.edu.

Faculty marked with an * may serve as doctoral advisers and OGS representatives.

 

Name  email Research Area Home Dept
Cliff Alton cliff.alton@pdx.edu Information systems INR-P
Chauncey Anderson  chauncey@usgs.gov water quality, turbity/sediment transport, limnology USGS
Shelby Anderson* ashelby@pdx.edu Past human-environment interactions, particularly the role of social networks in cultural vulnerability or resilience to environmental change ANTH
Dean Atkinson atkinsond@pdx.edu Aerosol optical properties as they relate to global climate change and to the measurement of pollution-related particulate matter CHEM
David Banis dbanis@pdx.edu Map Design and Production, Maps and Geographic Information, Mapmaking with GIS GEOG
John Bauer john.bauer@oregonstate.edu GIS analysis, identifying priority areas for wetland restoration in Oregon INR-P
William Becker i8wb@pdx.edu Science education CSE
Joe Bernert joe.bernert@oregonstate.edu GIS and statistics
INR-P
Randall Bluffstone* bluffsto@pdx.edu   ECON
Val Brennis     ESM
Barbara Brower* browerb@pdx.edu Cultural ecology, mountain geography, Nepal, the western United States, wildland resource conservation and policy, the environmental movement GEOG
Darrell Brown* darrellb@sba.pdx.edu corporate social and environmental reporting, the relationship business reporting and business transparency, and the relationship between social and environmental reporting and firm performance SBA
Norm Buccola nbuccola@usgs.gov water quality, water quality modeling, CEQUAL-W2 USGS
Teresa Bulman* bulmant@pdx.edu
Geography education
GEOG
Theresa Burcsu theresa.burcsu@oregonstate.edu How landscapes are influenced by human pressures such as management and development and the development of conservation goals for dynamic, heterogeneous landscapes at a variety of spatial scales INR-P
Erik Burns eburns@usgs.gov Groundwater modeling USGS
Scott Burns* burnss@pdx.edu
Environmental geology, soils, landslides, engineering geology, quaternary geology, terroir of wines, Missoula Floods GEOL
Chris Butenhoff cbuten@pdx.edu Climate change; sources and sinks of greenhouse gases; natural and anthropogenic forcings of greenhouse gases; atmospheric and bio geochemical modeling of greenhouse gas emissions; computational methods in inverse modeling; climate feedbacks; verification of emission inventories. PHYS
Virginia Butler* butlerv@pdx.edu Archaeology, zooarchaeology, long-term connections between people and animals, applications of zooarchaeology to conservation biology and education, western North America ANTH
Sherry Cady* cadys@pdx.edu Geomicrobiology, astrobiology, paleobiology, extreme environments, various microscopies GEOL
Heejun Chang* changh@pdx.edu
Hydrology and spatial analysis GEOG
Kurt Carpenter kdcar@usgs.gov   USGS
John Christy john.christy@pdx.edu Wetland community ecology, bryophytes, and historical ecology INR-P
Terrence Conlon  tdconlon@usgs.gov groundwater, climate change, tribal water issues, youth outreach USGS
Dar Crammond crammond@usgs.gov   USGS
Kenneth Cruikshank* cruikshankk@pdx.edu Physical processes relevant to the geosciences, and the quantification and simulation of these processes using numerical methods GEOL
Blair Csuti blair.csuti@oregonstate.edu Conservation biology INR-P
Michael Cummings* cummingsm@pdx.edu Quandrangle mapping of the middle Miocene rift systems of eastern Oregon GEOL
Ian Davidson idavidso@pdx.edu   ESM
Catherine de Rivera* derivera@pdx.edu Limits to and consequences of biological invasions and how ecological factors affect mating behaviors and reproductive success ESM
Richard Dewey deweyr@pdx.edu Tropical island resources conservation and management, specifically coral reef and colony nesting seabird ecology ESM
Marion Dresner* dresnem@pdx.edu Forest ecology, ecology education, qualitative modeling and ecological understanding, and citizen participation in environmental science ESM
Geoffrey Duh* jduh@pdx.edu GIS theory and applications, especially in the development of spatial decision support systems using data integration, optimization, and simulation techniques GEOG
Sarah Eldridge seldridge@usgs.gov   USGS
David Ervin* ervin@pdx.edu Agricultural Biotechnology and Environmental Management, Business Environmental Sustainability, Environmental Policy Reform, International Trade and Environmental Management ESM
Bill Fish* fishw@pdx.edu The transformation and transport of heavy metals and other contaminants in soil, surface water, sediment, and groundwater systems CEE
Andrew Fountain* andrew@pdx.edu Climate and hydrological effects of snow and glaciers with related interests in lake ice, river ice, and permafrost GEOL
Greg Fuhrer gjfuhrer@usgs.gov   USGS
Eleanor Gaines eleanor.gaines@pdx.edu Monitoring and recovering the federally threatened Western Snowy Plovers along the Oregon Coast INR-P
Marshall Gannett  mgannett@usgs.gov groundwater modeling, climate change USGS
Linda George* georgel@pdx.edu Atmospheric chemistry, monitoring and modeling of urban air pollutants, assessing human exposure to and perception of air pollutants and climate change, development of measurement techniques for quantifying atmospheric species, investigations of urban climate modification and atmospheric science education ESM
Jeff Gerwing* jgerwing@pdx.edu Forest ecology, restoration, and management ESM
Jami Goldman jgoldman@usgs.gov Organic matter research and its impact on water quality USGS
Elise Granek* graneke@pdx.edu The transition zone between land and sea examining how coastal and subtidal habitats interact in terms of biotic and abiotic processes ESM
Ed Guerrant     ESM
Keith Hadley hadley@pdx.edu   GEOG
Thomas Harvey* harveyt@pdx.edu The history and stewardship of cultural landscapes, emphasizing local and regional identity and city-country relationships GEOG
Tana Haluska thaluska@usgs.gov Geographic Information Systems USGS
Jonathan Haynes jhaynes@usgs.gov   USGS
Emilie Henderson
emilie.henderson@oregonstate.edu Modeling broad-scale patterns in plant communities, as they relate to environmental gradients, and disturbance history INR-P
Nora Herrera nherrera@usgs.gov Ground water flow and surface/ground water interactions USGS
Glen Hess gwhess@usgs.gov   USGS
Steve Hinkle  srhinkle@usgs.gov Surface water monitoring, surface water modeling, flood investigation USGS
Mike Houck mikehouck@urbangreenspaces.org   GEOG
Christina Hulbe* chulbe@pdx.edu Polar glaciology, role of Earth's great ice sheets in climate change, application of geomechanics and geodynamics to above topics GEOL
David Jay* djay@pdx.edu Tidal analysis, salmon habitat in the Columbia River basin CEE
Gwynn Johnson* gjohnson@pdx.edu Groundwater hydrology, subsurface contaminant transport and fate, environmental chemistry CEE
Hank Johnson hjohnson@usgs.gov Fate and transport of agricultural contaminants in the Yakima River Basin in Central Washington and in the Willamette River Basin in Western Oregon USGS
Krista Jones kljones@usgs.gov Reconnaissance-level studies of bed-material transport and channel condition in coastal Oregon rivers USGS
Jimmy Kagan jimmy.kagan@pdx.edu Conservation bilogy, biogeography, botany and plant ecology, integrated landscape assessments, begetation mapping, transportation-conservation planning, ecosystem services INR-P
Valerie Kelly vjkelly@usgs.gov   USGS
Aslam Khalil* aslamk@pdx.edu Global Change Science, reflecting the impact of human activities on the earth's climate and habitability PHYS
Martin Lafrenz* lafrenz@pdx.edu Fluvial geomorphology and soils, urban stream phenomena, the legacy effects of human land use on critical zone processes, community-based watershed monitoring, and mobile GIS GEOG
Amy Larson larsona@pdx.edu   ESM
Louise Loudermilk     ESM
Melissa Lucash     ESM
Dennis Lynch ddlynch@usgs.gov   USGS
Scott Marshall* scottm@sba.pdx.edu Proactive environmental strategy, corporate governance and sustainability reporting SBA
Joe Maser* maserj@pdx.edu Effectiveness of wetland mitigation projects to compensate for ecological functions lost due to anthropogenic activities ESM
Robert McCaffrey mccaf@pdx.edu Earthquake hazards, tectonics, geodesy  GEOL
Kathleen McCarthy mccarthy@usgs.gov Passive sampling methods—theory and application, contaminant transport & mass exchange among environmental compartments, ground-water flow and contaminant transport and fate in permafrost regions USGS
Chris Mooers cmooers@cecs.pdx.edu Ocean prediction science, coastal ocean circulation dynamics, circulation of marginal and semi-enclosed seas, and mesoscale oceanography; regional circulation models; interface between models and observations: model-data comparisons, data assimilation, and nowcast-forecast experiments; shelfbreak processes CEE
Jennifer Morace jlmorace@usgs.gov Evaluating water-quality conditions in the Columbia River Basin, particular toxics -- pesticides, legacy compounds, pharmaceuticals, wastewater compounds, PBDEs, "emerging contaminants", and others USGS
Eric Nielsen emn2@pdx.edu Using satellite imagery and other geographic data to map vegetation communities, model distributions of plant and animal species, and detect change across Oregon and the national parks of Washington state INR-P
Elena Nilson enilsen@usgs.gov   USGS
James O'Connor  oconnor@usgs.gov Geomorphology, sediment transport, surface geology, paleo-floods, ecosystem classification USGS
Leonard Orzoi llorzol@usgs.gov Groundwater investigations in Oregon such as the Upper Klamath Basin and other basins of Oregon USGS
Jiayi Pan panj@pdx.edu Environmental/Water Resources CEE
Yangdon Pan* pany@pdx.edu Environmental monitoring and bioassessment of freshwater;
Stream/river ecology with an emphasis on algae
ESM
Jim Pankow* pankowj@pdx.edu Behavior and fate of chemicals in the atmosphere and in natural waters, including the application of advanced methods of chemical analysis to track chemicals of speical interest in those two compartments CEE
David Percy percyd@pdx.edu Geographical Information Systems, web-GIS, spatial data analysis, computer applications in the earth sciences,
computer networking, multi-user databases, field applications of technology
GEOL
Ben Perkins* rperkins@pdx.edu Water and sediment geochemistry GEOL
Joseph Poracsky* poracskyj@pdx.edu Cartography, visualization/graphic communication, analytical cartography/geographical information systems, the urban forest, applied remote sensing GEOG
Andrew Rice* arice@pdx.edu
Better understanding sources and sinks of important atmospheric trace gases using small variations in naturally occurring stable isotopes PHYS
Joeseph Rinella jrinella@usgs.gov Hydrology USGS
John Risley jrisley@usgs.gov Surface-water statistical, watershed modeling, streamflow temperature modeling, and climate change studies USGS
John Rueter*
rueterj@pdx.edu Hypereutrophication of Upper Klamath Lake as a result of cyanobacteria physiology, how marshes may mitigate these blooms, how we can extract phosphorus using plants, and the difficulty of reaching policy decisions in such a complex system ESM
Stewart Rounds sarounds@usgs.gov Water-quality monitoring and modeling of rivers and lakes around Oregon USGS
Greg Ruiz ruizg@si.edu Population and community ecology of marine and estuarine ecosystems, animal behavior, larval recruitment of marine invertebrates, ecological parasitology, life history evolution, predator-prey interactions ESM
Alex Ruzicka* ruzickaa@pdx.edu The origin and evolution of the solar system, with particular emphasis on the petrology and geochemistry of meteorites and their components GEOL
Robert Scheller* rmschell@pdx.edu How terrestrial landscapes and the ecosystem services they support change through time in response to diverse influences, including climate change, management, wildfire, insects, and others ESM
Priya Shahani priya.shahani@oregonstate.edu The application of scientific information to improve land management decisions and their conservation outcomes INR-P
Daniel Snyder dtsnyder@usgs.gov Groundwater hydrology USGS
Jeremy Spoon* jspoon@pdx.edu Local ecological knowledge and understanding, political economy, environmental sustainability; mountainous protected areas, place-based spirituality, applied anthropology, public education; mixed methods, South Asia, Native North America, East Africa ANTH
Trygve Steen* steent@pdx.edu Conservation and forest ecology ESM
Marc Stewart mastewart@usgs.gov   USGS
Adam Stonewall stonewal@usgs.gov Surface water monitoring, flood frequency USGS
Martin Streck* streckm@pdx.edu Igneous petrology, volcanology, geochemistry GEOL
Angela Strecker* strecker@pdx.edu Understanding the effects of human activities on freshwater ecosystems, including food web and community responses to climate change, invasive species, and landscape connectivity ESM
Annett Sullivan annett@usgs.gov Water quality, TMDLs, water quality modeling USGS
Mark Sytsma* sytsmam@pdx.edu Limnology and marine and freshwater invasive species biology, ecology, and management including policy development ESM
Dwight Tanner dqtanner@usgs.gov   USGS
Whitney Temple wbtemple@usgs.gov Ecosystems, water quality monitoring USGS
Jim Tesoriero  tesorier@usgs.gov Investigating the fate and transport of contaminants along ground water flow paths and the influence of ground water – surface water interactions on nutrient transport in streams USGS
Mark Uhrich mauhrich@usgs.gov   USGS
Natalie Vasey* nvasey@pdx.edu Behavioral ecology, life history adaptations, and evolution of primates, with a focus on the endangered and recently extinct primates of Madagascar ANTH
Sue Vrilakas sue.vrilakas@pdx.edu Botany data management INR-P
Ian Waite iwaite@usgs.gov Understanding the effects on agricultural and urban land use on stream ecosystems by making better connections between landscape ecology and stream biota, primarily fish, macroinvertebrates and algae USGS
Wayne Wakeland* wakeland@pdx.edu Biomedical dynamics, the software development process, criminal justice systems, sustainability, supply chain management, organizational dynamics and systems thinking, simulation & optimization methods SysSci
Rose Wallick rosewall@usgs.gov   USGS
Scott Wells* wellss@pdx.edu Developing computer models for the temperature, oxygen levels, algae, plants, and fish in reservoirs, lakes, and rivers in order to maintain their quality CEE
John Williams johnw@usgs.gov   USGS
Daniel Wise dwise@usgs.gov   USGS
Lindsey Wise lindsey.wise@pdx.edu Rare species and habitats data management, ranking standards, distributions in the Pacific Northwest; invasive species data management and application to early detection, rapid response and predicted distribution modeling. INR-P
Tamara Wood tmwood@usgs.gov  Water quality and modeling, cyanotoxins USGS
Martha Works* mworks@pdx.edu Latin America, cultural geography, landscape history, agriculture, rural land use and sustainability GEOG
Alan Yeakley* yeakley@pdx.edu
Ecological system analysis, ecosystem management, forest ecology, hydrological modeling, riparian ecology, urban ecology, watershed biogeochemistry, watershed hydrology ESM
Edward Zaron ezaron@pdx.edu Environmental fluid dynamics, with an emphasis on hydrodynamics CEE
Martin Zwick* zwick@pdx.edu Information theoretic modeling, machine learning, theoretical biology, game theory, and systems theory and philosophy SysSci