Search Google Appliance

President's Diversity Award Recipients

The recipients of the annual President's Diversity Award are recognized for their outstanding accomplishments toward the enhancement of diversity and equity at PSU in the following categories:

Faculty Award:

2014 - Grace Dillon, Associate Professor, Indigenous Nations Studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
            Sridevi Nair, Assistant Professor, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
2013 - Masami Nishisiba, Assistant Professor, Public Administration, College of Urban and Public Affairs
2012 - Toeutu Faaleava , Director of McNair Scholars Program
2011 - Susan Danielson, Professor, Department of English
            Cornel Pewewardy - Professor, Native American Studies
2010 - Jun Jiao, Professor, Department of Physics
2009 - Yer Thao, Assistant Professor , Curriculum & Instruction, Graduate School of Education
2008 - Julie Esparza Brown, Director Bilingual Teacher Pathway Program
2007 - Darrell Millner, Professor, Black Studies
2006 - Dalton Miller-Jones, Chair, Black Studies; Professor, Psychology
            Jack Straton, Assistant Professor, University Studies

Staff Award:

2014 - Kirsten Keith, Assistant Coordinator, Queer Resource Center, Enrollment Management & Student Affairs
2013 - Melanie Dixon-Cardwell, Assistant Director of Diversity & Multicultural Student Services;
            Kanaan Kanaan, Middle East Student Advisor
2012 - John Barnett’s, Operations Manager at the School of Social Work
2011 - Lynda Pullen, Student Adviser, Graduate School of Education’s International Teacher Licensure Program
2010 - Phillip W.W.D. Rodgers, Sr., Director, Office of Student Financial Aid
2009 - Stephanie Jahnke, Staff, Program Administrator, Conflict Resolution, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
2008 - Karen Popp, Foreign Languages and Literature
2007 - Rose Hill, Coordinator, Native American Student Services
2006 - Paulette Watanabe, Director, Educational Equity Programs and Services
2006 - Clevonne Jackson, Director, Educational Opportunity Program

Undergraduate Student Award:

2014 - Goutam Saha, Film Major, School of Theatre & Film, College of the Arts
2013 - Kevin Thomas, Women Studies and Indigenous Studies majors, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2012 - Mandy Elder, Child and Family Studies, School of Social Work
2011 - Nathaniel Salazar, Undergraduate Student, School of Social Work
2010 - Christian Aniciete, Undergraduate Student, Business Marketing
2009 - Tash Shatz, Undergraduate Student, Women's Studies and Sociology
2009 - Rudolfo Soto, Undergraduate Student, Liberal Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2008 - Makerusa Porotesano, Undergraduate student
2007 - Rosella DeLeon, Business, Information Systems
2006 - Gainell Irving, English, Senior
           Ashley Nicole Browning, School of Community Health, Senior

Graduate Student Award:

2014 - Shannon Sprague, Education Counseling Major, Graduate School of Education
2013 - Eric Ernesto Aguilar, Applied Linguistics major, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
2012 - Ms. Hope Yamasaki, Leadership for Sustainability Education (LSE) Specialization 
2010 - Marjorie McGee, Doctoral Student, School of Social Work
2009 - Carmen Anderson, Graduate Student, School of Education
2008 - Angie Mejia, Graduate Student
2007 - Tenzin Kalsang Choephel, Public Administration

Team Award:

2014 - Population Research Center: Sheila Martin, Jason Jurjevich, Kevin Rancik, Charles Rynerson, and Janai Kessi; Mark Harmon Leymon, Criminology and Criminal Justice, College of Urban & Public Affairs
2013 - Students for Social Action (Leadership Team: Matt Chorpenning, Malika Edden, and Patricia Narvaez), MSW     Program, School of Social Work
2012 - Katharine Cahn &  Lea Ann Holder, Center for Improvement of Child and Family Services, School of Social Work.

Alumni Award:

2014 - Mindy Johnston, Director of Venerable Showers of Beauty Gamelan Ensemble, Lewis & Clark College, Adjunct Instructor, School of Music, College of the Arts
2013 - Mark Jackson, Vice President and Executive Director, REAP: Reaching and Empowering All People

Donor Award:

2014 - Evelyn Crowell, Albert Crowell, Jr. Endowed Scholarship, Evelyn Crowell Endowed Scholarship, College of the Arts
2013 - Keren Brown Wilson, Assistant Professor, Institute on Aging, College of urban and Public Affairs

Global Diversity Award:

2014 - Betty Jean "Bee Jai" Repp, Ph.D., Former Director of Extended Campus Program  (Posthumous)
2012 - Ann Curry-Stevens, Ph.D., Associate Professor
2011 - Avel Gordly, Former Oregon State Senator and Associate Professor